MUSING MONDAYS | Mailbox Monday

This is the most relaxed Monday ever. I had a nicest massage yesterday and I was introduced to meditation. I used to side-eye those practices a long time ago but now, I’m a believer. Nothing super serious; it’s mostly over the Android apps. (One of the apps I’m using is free on the Android but is $1.99 on the iOS. Nope.) I’m looking forward to my next session

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

* I’m currently reading…
* Up next I think I’ll read…
* I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
* I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
* I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
* I can’t wait to get a copy of…
* I wish I could read ___, but…
* I blogged about ____ this past week…

I should’ve answered this question either last week or during a Wishlist Wednesday. But I just got it in the mail today so here it is:

It’s been a while since I won anything. This was a last minute sweepstakes entry. Simon & Schuster posted a reminder on Facebook and I just happen to see it. The deadline was in a couple of hours. I entered just ’cause. Plus, Michelle Moran is one of my favorite authors. I read two of her books, The Heretic Queen and Madame Tussaud. And I do plan to read them all.

So I filled out the form and totally forgot about it. About a week later, I get an email from Simon & Schuster telling me that I’m one of the 10 who won the sweepstakes! Yeah-yuh! I love getting books in the mail. Especially if they’re free. 😉

For this week’s random question: Who (or what) influences your reading most?

Other readers, bloggers, and reviewers. Especially those who read the same genres/books as I do. There are a couple of people that I follow and not only do I enjoy reading their reviews, but more often than not, they influence my next reads.

Sometimes, covers. I’m like a magpie. A pretty cover (and title) lures me right in. Then I read the blurb. If that’s not enough, I do the Page 69 technique. If I like it, I write the title and author down so I can look for it later. Mt. TBR isn’t accepting hikers right now.

It’s the best feeling as a blogger to read/hear that I’ve influenced someone’s reading. Sure, this is not a “job” to me but at least this little hobby is doing some good.

 

Thoughts?

