TOP TEN TUESDAYS | FREEBIE

Whew. That was a long-ish break from blogging. The holidays combined with this recent long weekend, I just had zero energy to do anything. This was supposed to go up yesterday, as it is called Top Ten Tuesdays, but I got swamped at work and didn’t get past the “writing down a list” mark. So here I am, shaking off the holiday rust and going back into the thick of things.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is a FREEBIE so we’re listing down the Top Ten Books That Other People Made Me Want to Read.

Have you ever experienced that? You see another person, a celebrity, a blogger holding a book and suddenly, you’re interested in reading that same book? It’s pretty shallow but I have. Much more so in music but I find that I’m more picky with the stuff I listen to than my reading. I’ve taken very good recommendations from friends, they know what I like. And I’ve taken a chance with these other people’s choices.

1. Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers. I found out about this from a Youtube book vlogger, Rincey Reads. But I first saw her comment about this book on her GoodReads page. She actually have it 2 stars. That and her comment caught my attention. Then I read more reviews. “Assassin nuns” stuck out and that was it… I picked it up right away. I’ve since met the author and am finally reading the next book in the trilogy.

2. The Social Animal: The Hidden Sources of Love, Character, and Acheivement by David Brooks. This “recommendation” comes from one of my favorite people on the planet, Nathaniel Fick. He mentioned it in an opening remarks speech… something about his wife gifting him the book. I even remember making a separate post about it during the early days of my blog! There was a time when I would devour everything this man said. I hunted down a physical copy of this book and now it’s sitting on my shelf waiting to be read.

3. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon. I picked this book up out of love. My niece told me about this because it was generating buzz within the Filipino YA reading community. I’ve never heard of this book prior to that conversation and after that, I dropped everything and read this. Man, what a fail. I still love my niece to pieces but dang, this book… eh, I don’t know.

4. The Good Soldiers by David Finkel. This is where I got the idea from. I remember seeing Alexander Skarsgard holding a book while filming Disconnect. I love military books and my very favorite of ASkars’ works is Generation Kill which ended up being one of my favorite book and TV show of all time… it made sense in my mind to pick up that book in his hand. Luckily, I came across a copy at a thrift store. Sort of the same story with Nate Fick’s (which coincidentally is also connected with GK).

Since we’re the in the topic of GK…

5. Primrose Past: The 1848 Journal of Young Lady Primrose by Caroline Rose Hunt. The author is the grandmother of yet another GK-related actor, Stark Sands. Stark portrayed Nate Fick in GK. When I heard that his grandmother penned a novel, I searched for it. I got it off eBay. You can see my copy of the book here at the top shelf with my photo of Stark and his American Idiot cast mates. I read that waaay before I even decided to do a book blog. I might re-read it and tell you what I think of it.

6. Making the Corps by Tom Ricks. Okay, one last Nate Fick/military-related recommendation. Tom Ricks is the person who sort of convinced Nate Fick to go into the military. He then worked with Ricks, even becoming his boss for some time in CNAS. I don’t remember when Nate Fick mentioned this – either in his book, One Bullet Away, or in an interview but I eventually found this book (along with the rest of the books previously mentioned) at a thrift store. I’ve skimmed through it but I have yet to sit down and absorb everything.

7. A Million Little Pieces by James Frey. Ah yes, the book that tricked Oprah Winfrey. I’ve collected Oprah’s Book Club entries over the years and a lot of them are not exactly my cup of tea. When the scandal over this book broke out, I bumped it to the top of my TBR. Scandal aside, I liked it. It’s a freestyle kind of writing. And honestly, there was no way this was factual. Some maybe, but definitely not all of it.

8. The Collector by John Fowles. I have to thank Criminal Minds for this. They mentioned this on their first season finale and second season premiere episode. And it’s so fascinating. It does have a 1960s movie adaptation and I think it needs a remake… only if they do it right. But for now, do yourself a favor and watch Criminal Minds.

9. The Illustrated Man by Ray Bradbury. This is another Criminal Minds recommendation. It’s one of my favorite cases. I think it’s Season 5, Episode 20… A Thousand Words.  It’s a collection of short stories and it all connects to the Illustrated Man. I love how CM made sense of everything. It’s so good and creepy.

10. Nancy Drew Mysteries by Caroline Keene. This is where this all started. It’s a recommendation from my own mother. Needless to say, I will recommend this to my own child if ever I have one.

5 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAYS | FREEBIE

    • Aww… 🙂

      I remember my mom taking me to our local bookstore and telling me how she would read book after book from this series. She would borrow from a classmate and read it inside of a day. I ended up either buying my copies or being gifted by family. I still love those books!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I seem to remember always getting a few from Costco whenever we went (usually with my grandmother, who would have bought me the whole set had I asked for it). I actually did just call my mom and she looked briefly for them but couldn’t seem to find them, so now I’m REALLY wondering what happened to them. Worse comes to worse I could get the whole set on Amazon for the easy-peasy price of $500 =P

        Like

  1. Pingback: MAILBOX MONDAY #1 | Thriftbooks Haul | Reading Good Books

  2. Pingback: TOP TEN TUESDAYS | The Last 5 Years | Reading Good Books

Thoughts?

