TAG, YOU’RE IT! | This or That?

I’m stealing this off of the lovely Read? Read. blog. And she got this from Inspired By LiteratureFeel free to do it too.

Physical book or E-book?
I like book. But as much as I would want to accumulate physical books, the space that I currently have does not allow that. Over time, I’ve seen the practicality and convenience of ebooks and now, I love them just as much as physical books.

Audio or Book in hand?
Book in hand. I have a sizable collection of digital audio books but I never have the patience to sit down and listen to them. At least, not the books that I’ve never read before. I would go the audio book route if it is a re-read, as I did for this year’s The Hobbit. I tried to do a first listen on The Red Necklace because it was read by Tom Hiddleston but I became to distracted by his voice and with what I was doing. I can multitask when listening to music but when it’s spoken word, I’d rather concentrate on that rather than pushing it to the background. I also audiobook’d Outlander but I treated it as a podcast… listening to it while on the road but never while doing other things.

Paperback or Hardcover?
Depends. If I started out a series with a hardcover copy, all of it should come the same way. But if I get into a series late and I get the latest book in hardcover, the format of the other books doesn’t matter. My Harry Potter 1 to 3 are paperback from Scholastic and the 4th one is paperback from Bloomsbury. 5 to 7 are all hardcover.

Adult or Young Adult?
Adult. Yes, I’ve warmed up to YA in recent months but it tends to sound the same after 2-3 books. I need to mix it up or else I’ll go back to disliking it again. Whereas with adult – that includes general contemporary fiction as well as erotica – I can read a whole 5-part series and not get tired of it.

Series or standalone?
prefer standalones because once they’re done, they’re done. But I also like finished series. Because I can read then at my own pace and I know that I don’t have to wait for a new one. I do like unfinished series but we all know about the frustration of having to wait years for the next installment and then it ends up being crap, you know? But I’ve started a lot of series… I just need to up and finish them.

Dog ears or bookmarks?
Bookmarks. I hate creases on books. Even on the spines.

Breaking the spine or barely opening the book?
See above. 😉 I have books that I’ve owned for years and re-read many times but still look brand new. That is, until you notice the yellowing paper.

Borrow or buy?
Buy. Confession: I was a Library Science student but never in my life have I checked out a book from a library. Either I read it on site or photo copy the parts that I need.

Bookstore or online?
Both. I usually scope out what I like from the bookstore and if it’s cheaper online (with free shipping), that’s where I’ll get it. I know that’s cheating somewhat but I gotta be practical. 😉

Fiction or non-fiction?
Fiction. I’m picky with non-fiction. I mostly like True Crime and Military.

Fantasy world or real life issues?
Fantasy. One of the reasons why I will never ever be a 100% fan of YA is the “real life issues” aspect. Too much drama, sometimes much more than in actual real life, and besides, my life has enough drama. (One of the main reasons why I disliked The Fault in Our Stars is because I’ve experienced worse loss than Hazel Grace. Sorry.)

Kindle, iPad, or other?
I have both and a Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 Nook. I dislike reading on my iPad. I’m currently getting a lot of mileage on my SGT4N. But I try to alternate between that and my Kindle. After all, they accommodate different formats.

Monster read or short & sweet?
I prefer a monster read but we all need short & sweets from time to time.

Starry-eyed romance or full of action?
If I can get both in one book, that would be swell. Outlander, anyone?

Curl up in a Snuggie or bathe in the sun?
Snuggie. No sun for me.

Read the review or decide for yourself?
Honestly, I tend to read reviews or at least check out the star ratings. Or judge the book by its cover. Sorry, not sorry.

Zombies or unicorns?
Zombies. (Vampires actually but the undead in general.)

Okay. Wasn’t that fun? Link back if you decide to do it too. 🙂

5 thoughts on “TAG, YOU’RE IT! | This or That?

  1. I would answer nearly all the same. Except zombies over unicorns. I prefer unicorns. 😛 I was always really resistant to e-readers, until I received one for Christmas a couple of years ago. Now I own a Sony Reader, and a Kindle Paperwhite. I love that they fit into my purse easier, especially since I love monster reads. I take it everywhere…particularly handy if a line is long, waiting behind people with a million things in their carts! That all being said, there is something special about a physical book, though, that can’t be denied. Plus, I love to look at my bookshelf with all the titles lined up, each with a memory(or several) attached to them….

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve become a tablet addict. I have the iPad2, Kindle Fire HD, and a nook. I get ereaders for my birthday every year. If space were not an issue, I would like to get books but gotta be practical.

      Like

  2. I dearly love my ereaders. But, I sometimes have the scary thought about what happens if the things just quit working one day, or happen to get ruined in some horrific tea spilling accident? lol Do we lose all the books on them? Makes me shudder!

    Like

Thoughts?

