TOP TEN TUESDAYS | My Time to Shine

Is your favorite character in a book always the main character? For me, no. Actually, it’s almost always never the main character. I tend to nitpick them the most thus, I find the most flaws in them. I tend to gravitate towards the secondary characters. The sidekicks. The best friends. Even the villain. Sometimes, I wish there was a version of the story from their POV instead of the protagonist.

Then again, that’s what fan fiction is for, right? 😉

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday , we’re listing down the Top Ten Characters You Wish Would Get Their OWN Book (minor or just maybe a semi main character you wish a book was from their POV).

The number one… and really, the only answer that I want to give:

1. LEGOLAS of The Lord of the Rings.
Especially now that we have an actor portrayal of his father, Thranduil… I’m interested to see how Legolas’ journey goes from before the Council of Elrond until his voyage to Valinor. I felt that his character served as the epitome of supporting characters in the book. Thank goodness Peter Jackson decided to give him epic stuff to do on-screen and thank Orlando Bloom as well for being as pretty as he was in a blonde wig. I don’t mind all the singing in the book although I would like to read more about his thoughts and musings.

2. Fergus from the Outlander series.
Don’t get me wrong, I love Jamie Fraser. But Fergus, you little git, has attached himself to my heart from his days as a pickpocket to Marsali’s noble husband. And his children are the most adorable. I don’t know… I can’t picture what he looks like but the way he calls Claire “milady” and his dedication to Jamie make him so endearing. I’m still on the 5th book and it looks like he’s been living his own life; not being mentioned as much. Lord John has a spin off series… Fergus could at least get a novella.

3. Peeta Mellark of The Hunger Games trilogy.
If boring ol’ Four can get his own series of books, Peeta deserves his own POV set. Book!Katniss is one of the most clueless, emotionless characters in YA while Peeta is the opposite of that. And you can tell that just by reading Katniss’ boring POV. Plus Josh Hutcherson‘s portrayal of the character makes him look exactly like a lovesick kicked puppy. I’m kind of hoping that we see his side of the story in either one of the Mockingjay movies. Jennifer Lawrence is lovely but the uberlove that she’s had is getting a tad bit old and tedious. Katniss is the main character but she’s not the only character. And if there is anything we’ve learned from book-to-film projects, they will do whatever the hell they want with the original material to make it more screen-friendly.

4. Haymitch Abernathy of The Hunger Games trilogy.
Three words: 50th Quarter Quell.

5. James Potter of the Harry Potter series.
I honestly don’t care about the POVs of the other students and professors in the book. Harry’s account of things is enough (3rd person, duh). However, I remember my first HP fan fiction are James/Lily. Why? Because I want to know his Hogwarts life. We caught a bit of that in Half-Blood Prince but it’s not enough.

6. Cardamom of The Flowers of War.
It’s a strange choice but if you’ve read this book, you might have an idea why. Her character provided the most contrast between the main character and the prostitutes, in that she is the same age as the school girls. It seems that she’s lived the hardest life and her ending is anything but happy.

7. The Four Founders from the Harry Potter universe.
Godric Gryffindor, Helga Hufflepuff, Rowena Ravenclaw, Salazar Slytherin. I never said that character naming is JK Rowling’s strong suit. But she is awesome in world building. Hogwarts started with these three and if ever there will be an HP prequel, I want it to go as far as the founding wizards.

8. Irene Adler from the Sherlock Holmes universe.
Most of the Sherlock Holmes stories are told in Watson’s POV with a few in Sherlock’s. I would like to read a story from someone who is not really close to Sherlock… someone who finds him fascinating but doesn’t have the inside information like Watson. Also, Sherlock admired her resourcefulness and smarts. In a way, she’s the closest to an equal to him, but of a different sex. Adler is a picture of sass but I wonder how her own admiration for Sherlock would look from her POV.

9. Poppet and Widget from The Night Circus.
Yes, they do have their own chapters. But can you imagine a whole book featuring these two? From the moment of their birth, they’re pretty special. This whole book is special but I seem to have more fun reading their chapters over any one else’s.

10. Eric Northman of the Sookie Stackhouse Mysteries.
I think I can stand a whole book of self-love.  LOL.  I admit, I stopped reading after the 5th book because it got too ridiculous for my liking but with Alexander Skarsgard in my head as Eric for eternity, I don’t think I’d mind if the book is in his POV.

I could add people from A Song of Ice and Fire but each chapter is a different character’s POV anyway. So technically, it’s a story about ALL OF THEM instead of focusing on just one person. Also, I mentioned Four by Veronica Roth. It’s a series of shorts on Four’s POV instead of Tris. James Dashner has written in The Maze Runner verse outside Thomas’ head. Diana Gabaldon has a series spinoff from her Outlander world. So you see, it can be done. Fan fiction is good but at the end of the day, all of that is speculation. The epilogue for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows read like bad fan fiction but JK Rowling wrote it herself making it, as bad as it was, canon.

 

Thoughts?

