BOOK BEGINNINGS FRIDAY #12 | To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

Reminds you of that oldies song, right? I remember the Julio Iglesias and Willie Nelson version. How about you?

Anyway, I just finished The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd and I was looking at the contents of my Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 Nook for my next read. I have some good selections but I needed to take a break from my usual genres. Hence, this choice

Book Beginnings @ Rose City Reader. Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

The book I chose is To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. Can anyone tell me what I’m getting myself into? This is not my usual genre and frankly, I shy away from covers and titles like this. But the Goodreads blurb looks charming and who knows… Maybe all I need is a good novel to introduce me to another genre.

I like to save things. Not important things like whales or people or the environment. Silly things. Porcelain bells, the kind you get at souvenir shops. Cookie cutters you’ll never use, because who needs a cookie in the shape of a foot? Ribbons for my hair. Love letters. Of all the things I save, I guess you could say my love letters are my most prized possessions.

Y’know, I can relate. I’m somewhat of a hoarder as well. I save all the receipts of my DVDs. I keep the tags of my bags in the inner pocket of said bag. I collect museum pamphlets as souvenir. Hey, you’ll never know.

As for the book, I haven’t gone past the prologue, intro page. I’ll let you know what I think after I finish it.

4 thoughts on “BOOK BEGINNINGS FRIDAY #12 | To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

  1. Pingback: Review: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han | Reading Good Books

Thoughts?

