TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Once more with feeling

In my reading slump post, someone commented that re-reading is a way for them to get out of that slump. I’ve done that before; I have three books that I re-read every year anyway. And then I would see a book on my shelf and for some reason, just pick it up and read it. Not just picking chapters here and there… really reading it.

I don’t really re-read a whole lot of books. There are so many new ones out there; I’d rather read them and experience something new. But revisiting these magical places and moments doesn’t sound so bad, yeah?

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday , we’re listing down the Top Ten Books I Want To Reread (or if you don’t reread…would reread in an ideal world).

Let me start with my 3 most re-read books of all time:

1. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
This needs no explanation. I haven’t read it yet this year though. I have less than two months to get on it and I have the perfect edition to accompany me on it. But the thing is with re-reads, they tend to pass by faster than the first read. You’re more familiar with the events in the story and if you don’t like a particular scene, you can skim through it without being lost.

2. Generation Kill by Evan Wright
I’m actually in a dilemma about this book and author right now. He has an appearance tomorrow and at first, I desperately wanted to go. I mean, I have a very special copy of this book signed by one of the Marines and a good handful of the actors from the HBO mini-series. If I can’t get any of the other Marines on there (Brad and Nate, ahem), the next best thing – if not THE BEST thing – is to have the author sign it. But it’s rather a hassle for me to get there using public transport. I don’t drive and I don’t have anyone to take me there. 😦 So… eh I don’t know.

3. The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien
This is almost always the first book I read every year. Or just these past ones because of the movies. Now that the final – FINAL – one is coming ever closer… gaaah, I don’t even want to think about it. ;____; I’ve read this in hard copy, e-book, and audio. And of course the movies, animated and live action. In fact, the extended edition of The Desolation of Smaug comes out on DVD and Bluray today.

4. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon
I kinda want to add this to my yearly reads. I already read this twice this year, e-book and audio. I have three physical copies of this book, mind you. And I’m utterly in love with the TV series. I can’t wait for it to come back. I know that this is a brick of a book and I’m not gonna lie, it’s not the easiest thing to read but do yourself a favor and start on it. I always find myself pulling this up on my e-reader to read a passage or two. And I also want to highlight quotes the next time I read this book. Jamie has the BEST ones!

5. The Harry Potter series
All of them. Or at least one every now and then. It’s like reliving a childhood. Towards the end, it’s not really for kids anymore so I’m thinking about re-reading the first three especially. Azkaban is my absolute favorite. That alone, I’ve read four times.

6. A Feast for Crows by George RR Martin
For a refresher. It’s been a while since I finished this. I do have the next one but I’m in no hurry to read it. But when time comes, I may have to browse through Crows before starting Dragons.

7. The Stand by Stephen King
If I were to read only ONE Stephen King book in my life, it’ll be this one. It’s another brick but it’s totally worth it like Outlander. I’ve only read it once before. It does refer to other King works but it’s definitely a standalone. Oh boy, if only I read faster.

8. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova
I remember being so captivated by this novel. It’s simple yet complicated. There were essentially two characters to follow and a very engaging and colorful history. It’s a beautiful novel.

9. Belinda by Anne Rampling
It’s by Anne Rice actually, writing under a pseudonym. It is erotica. It is like Lolita. But I enjoyed this more. Way more. That is all.

10. Mars (マース) by Furumi Soryo
I only found a few hard copies but I’m pretty sure they’re available online. I had a classmate who had the whole set and I read three or four every time I went to his house to hangout. I’m totally IN LOVE with the live action Taiwanese drama and the manga is just as good.

Thoughts?

