BOOKING THROUGH THURSDAY #2

I haven’t played this meme for a long time.  While I do have another Thursday meme, That’s What He Said, I’m might go ahead and change the name to That’s What JAMIE FRASER Said because all I’ve been reading is within the Outlander world and the most recent book that I finished, Drums of Autumn, has a TON of quotables from this man.  I don’t want to flood the meme with just Jamie quotes although I am so tempted to so just that.

Booking Through Thursday
Okay, show of hands … who has read Shakespeare OUTSIDE of school required reading? Do you watch the plays? How about movies? Do you love him? Think he’s overrated?

Confession: I’m not much of a Shakespeare fan.  I’ve read a good chunk of his work and have seen adaptations of his plays. I never actually read him in school, like in an English class, but I’ve had Theatre courses. A couple of requirements in some of my classes was to watch a local staging of As You Like It in the local language.  I tried reading some of his work but I’m not cut out for poetry. Overrated?  Yeah, maybe.  Especially when there are other playwrights and poets and authors with works just as good as his.

However, one of my favorite musicals of all time is Roméo et Juliette: de la Haine à l’Amouradapted by Gérard Presgurvic.  It’s a French musical that I stumbled upon during my Theatre class in college.  I’ve been obsessed with it since then… up until now, I enjoy it immensely.  I love the music so much that I hunted down all the languages it was performed in.  French is still my favorite but the Russian version isn’t far behind.  While on the subject of musicals, West Side Story is one of my loves too.  After all, it was inspired by Romeo and Juliet.

Another R+J adaptation that I watched is the one with Leonardo di Caprio by Baz Luhrman.  I think every girl in my generation went through a Leo phase and I watched that movie before I was even allowed to watch those kinds of films.  It felt weird watching a film in modern setting but with archaic dialogue.  Still, I enjoyed it.  On stage, another hottie by the name of Orlando Bloom also played Romeo.

ROMEO AND JULIET on Broadway opened around my birthday last year and I totally planned on going up there to see it.  Alas, twas not meant to be.  I heard he was great.  I wish I could’ve seen it in person but a professional recording of it was shown during Valentines Day.  There’s that I guess.  (I then finally had the chance to meet him during the The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug premiere and his Walk of Fame ceremony.)

As for other Shakespeare works, I do prefer seeing them in performance than reading them.  Like I said, I’m not much for poetry.  Besides, TV/film/stage adaptations of Shakespeare often feature some of my favorite actors: Hiddleston, Cumberbatch, Branagh, McAvoy, Stark Sands, Lee Pace… the list goes on!  His words are beautiful… just like those men that I mentioned.  😄

So I guess in a way, I’m a ~fan.  At least of the adaptations.  I can’t deny that Shakespeare is an important person in literature but I also can’t say that I’m a huge fan of his.

Thoughts?

