BOOK BEGINNINGS FRIDAY #11 | The Strain

Note: I scheduled this to post on Friday, 08/22, night but for some reason it did not post.  I didn’t notice it until I logged into my WP account and checked my stats.  It’s a fail but hey, better late than never, right?

——

I haven’t done this meme in a while.  That’s because I’ve been reading looooong books lately.  Specifically, the Outlander series.  And I’m not reading as much as previous months so progress has been slow.  I’m currently on book 3, Voyager, but the book’s been breaking my heart so much I had to stop for a while.

And I recently started on a new TV show.  Actually, I’m doing a catch up on several shows.  One of them is Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan’s The Strain.  It’s a vampire show on FX but before you roll your eyes and change the channel, it’s not a True Blood replacement now that the HBO show is leaving us for good this Sunday.  It’s also not the cheesy Vampire Diaries type with alcohol-drinking high schoolers and feuding brothers and witches.  It’s a very grown up vampire story.  More on the horror side rather than the paranormal romance genre.

Book Beginnings @ Rose City Reader. Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

What do you know… it’s based on a book trilogy!  I then decided to give it a go.

“Once upon a time,” said Abraham Setrakian’s grandmother, “there was a giant,”

Young Abrahams’ eyes brightened, and immediately the cabbage borscht in the wooden bowl got tastier, or at least less garlicky. He was a pale boy, underweight and sickly. His grandmother, intent on fattening him, sat across from him while he ate his soup, entertaining him by spinning a yarn.

bubbeh meiseh, a “grandmother story.” A fairy tale. A legend.

This book is definitely not your “grandmother story”.  And it’s neither fairy tale nor legend.  It’s a modern vampire story.

By the time of posting, I only have to watch the season one finale of the show.  I’m already halfway done with the book but even at the 1/4 mark, I’ve already decided that the book is leaps and bounds BETTER than the TV show.  It’s not that the show is bad, no.  The book is just better.  And it gives more insight to the situations and characters.  Understandably, they had to cram a lot in the 6 episodes so far but even those don’t have that much material.  I love the mythology in the book that was clearly lacking in the show.  And they switched up some things; I don’t know how that will work out.

But the nerd in me is amused that Samwisge Gamgee and Mr. Argus Filch are in the same show.  In fact, the character that David Bradley (Filch in Harry Potter) plays in the show was supposed to be given to John Hurt… he played Ollivander in Harry Potter.  😉

I don’t mean for this to be any kind of review, by the way.  But I am enjoying the book so far.  Hopefully, this will break the review drought that my blog is experiencing at the moment.

Thoughts?

