WONDROUS WORDS WEDNESDAY | It’s back!

Hello!  🙂  I know I already have a Wednesday meme post but last night, I started on The Strain by Chuck Hogan and Guillermo del Toro.  I watched 4 episodes of the TV series and was intrigued by the story.  And I also needed something to distract me from Voyager which is breaking my wee little heart right now.

I missed WWW.  I love checking out other posts and learning new words while at it.  There were a bunch that surprised me because I encountered them in other parts of my life and wow, it surprised my peers that I know that word.  🙂

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where you can share new words that you’ve encountered or spotlight words you love.  Feel free to get creative!

While reading the first few chapters of The Strain, I came across this word:

el·e·gi·ac adj.
Of, relating to, or involving elegy or mourning or expressing sorrow for that which is irrecoverably past

I stared at it for a while and it inspired me to revive this lovely little meme on my blog.  I kind of fell off the wagon when I switched to a physical book when I read Voyager.  It was easier for me to tick mark vocabulary words on my Kindle.  And really, I haven’t encountered that many apart from Scottish slang words and whatnot.

I will try to keep it up, now that I’m reading on my Kindle again.

 

5 thoughts on “WONDROUS WORDS WEDNESDAY | It’s back!

  1. I wasn’t aware that WWW had gone away. I joined earlier this year and have been trying to post fairly regularly. Welcome back, isn’t it fun? I like elegiac 🙂

    Like

Thoughts?

