THAT’S WHAT HE SAID THURSDAY #3 | Peeta Mellark

I have more Jamie Fraser quotes but variety is the spice of life.  And I’m currently in my Peeta Mellark bubble right now, having met Josh Hutcherson last week at his charity basketball game.  I had the best time ever.  You can read about it here.  Or just click the photo at the bottom of the post. 😉

Every Thursday we are hosting a brand new meme called: That’s what HE said Thursday by Chapter Break.

Come join us every Thursday by posting a favorite line from your book boyfriend to his heroine. Keep in mind these are direct quotes from dialogue in a book. It is NOT a physical description of a male protag or a paragraph of dialogue. It is a line spoken by our favorite heroes to their lucky ladies.

I don’t remember Peeta or the whole The Hunger Games trilogy to be particularly romantic.  Mainly because Katniss Everdeen is anything but romantic.  To be honest, she’s more cynical than most YA heroines.  My main complaint is that she lacks character development.  She stays the same cynical bitter girl for most of the series.  As for quotes, hers are always hard and quite emotionless.  I’ve read THG fanfiction with sweeter lines.

As for Peeta, he’s amazing.  He’s a sweet boy that drew each and every short stick.  His love is not returned; people seemed to forget that he’s a Victor too; and he’s basically an adorable little doormat.    All because he loves Katniss.  I don’t consider that as unmanliness or weakness.  I actually think it’s sweet.

“My nightmares are usually about losing you,” he says. “I’m okay once I realize you’re here.”

This line is like something Jamie Fraser would say, don’t you think?  I seem to remember some lines from either Dragonfly or Voyager that sounds similar.  Maybe that’s why I picked this.  LOL.

That’s something similar between these two characters: they love their women so darn much.  So much that they’re willing to give their lives for them.  I liked the character of Peeta because he simply just loved and that love kept him going.  And poor, poor Peeta… no one really gave him the time of day.  Not even Katniss.  Well, there was Delly but… oh well.

Here’s a JHutch photo for you.  You can click through for the very long blog post about that incredible event.

2 thoughts on “THAT’S WHAT HE SAID THURSDAY #3 | Peeta Mellark

Thoughts?

