THAT’S WHAT HE SAID THURSDAY #2 | JAMIE FRASER

After the sampling from last week, can you blame me if I pick James Alexander Malcolm MacKenzie Fraser again?  Thought so.  I’m finishing off Dragonfly in Amber and even in the bloody, violent, gory scenes, Jamie finds the time to joke and to tell Claire that he loves her in so many ways.  Some people call it “Jamie-isms”.  And rightly so.  While there’s no question that Claire loves Jamie too (although, I argue with my feelings when she mentions her feelings for Frank), Jamie seems to be more adept in lightening the mood.  What I would give to have someone tell these cheesy as hell lines to me.

Every Thursday we are hosting a brand new meme called: That’s what HE said Thursday by Chapter Break.

Come join us every Thursday by posting a favorite line from your book boyfriend to his heroine. Keep in mind these are direct quotes from dialogue in a book. It is NOT a physical description of a male protag or a paragraph of dialogue. It is a line spoken by our favorite heroes to their lucky ladies.

Okay, the first one may turn some people off.  (And yes, this is a multiple quote post yet again.)  It doesn’t bother me; I actually think it’s sweet:

“Will ye let me do this later?” he murmured, with a soft bite. “When the child’s come, and your breasts fill wi’ milk? Will ye feed me, too, then, next to your heart?”

I clasped his head and cradled it, fingers deep in the baby-soft hair that grew thick at the base of his skull.

“Always,” I whispered.

Basically, what Jamie wants is to breastfeed from Claire. Let’s not sugarcoat things, okay?  I can only imagine if and how that’ll translate to screen, assuming we get that far.  (Let’s get to the US TV premiere first.)

I don’t know, can’t explain.  I find this so sweet.  Again, it shows how vulnerable Jamie is, how stripped down he gets when he’s with Claire.  To his men, he has to be this hardened warrior and a wise leader.  But all those walls come down when it comes to Claire and it’s like she’s the one place where he can let it all go and be himself.

“Don’t move, Sassenach,” Jamie’s voice came softly, next to me. “Just for a moment, mo duinne—be still.”

I obligingly froze, until he touched me on the shoulder.

“That’s all right, Sassenach,” he said, with a smile in his voice. “It’s only that ye looked so beautiful, wi’ the fire on your face, and your hair waving in the wind. I wanted to remember it.”

I turned to face him, then, and smiled at him, across the body of the child. The night was dark and cold, alive with people all around, but there was nothing where we sat but light and warmth—and each other.

This was a special moment.  Here, we see a glimpse of dad!Jamie with wee little Jamie.  And also, it’s one of those gem moments where Jamie, out of nowhere, just says or does something incredibly and heartbreakingly sweet.

He heaved a deep exasperated sigh. “Sassenach, I’ve been stabbed, bitten, slapped, and whipped since supper—which I dinna get to finish. I dinna like to scare children and I dinna like to flog men, and I’ve had to do both. I’ve two hundred English camped three miles away and no idea what to do about them. I’m tired, I’m hungry, and I’m sore. If you’ve anything like womanly sympathy about ye, I could use a bit!”

And this is Jamie Fraser, getting his kilt back on straight.

7 thoughts on “THAT’S WHAT HE SAID THURSDAY #2 | JAMIE FRASER

  1. I think you could do Jamie quotes every week and never run out! Love your picks, and I love how they show different sides of him. My favorite Jamie quotes are always the funny/sarcastic ones, like your last one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • True. And I notice that he’s the only one with these great quotes. I mean, Claire and the others get one from time to time but with Jamie, it’s consistent. 🙂

      Like

  2. I ❤ Outlander series (need to review this at some point) and Jamie is definitely in my literature crushes list, on very top of it. You picked nice quotes, show the best sides in Jamie. Can't wait for the TV series!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love JAMMF. I agree with Julie. You could quote Jamie every Thursday and never run out of material. I love how Jamie is with Claire. Sigh… Did you watch the show? What did you think? I liked it. Watched it twice already….and yeah, it wasn’t perfect, but it was still fun to watch.

    Like

  4. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – Day Eleven #Top10Tuesday | Reading Good Books

  5. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – DAY TWENTY-THREE | Reading Good Books

Thoughts?

