FIVE FRIDAY FAVORITES| Secondary Characters

I follow a beauty guru on Youtube with a weekly series called Friday Favorites and a Possible Poo (whoo!).  In fact, I just finished watching her video for this week.  I love her and she’s so much fun.  Shout out to Melissa!

And then I found a Friday Favorites for book blogs.  Normally, I do Book Beginnings on Friday but since I’ve not started a book in, I don’t know, two months now… I haven’t had anything to post as a book beginning.  I’ll come back to that eventually but for now, I have another list meme.  As you know, I love lists and I never tire of doing them.

I came across this one from Book Badger:

Five Friday Favourites is a weekly event hosted by me, Book Badger, where once a week, a five favourites subject will be posted by me and everyone is welcome to join in.

So who are your favourite secondary characters? Do you feel the same or do you have others from the same series that need the limelight?

Here I am, about to establish my own loophole.  Anyone who is not the lead/main character is a secondary character, right?  Or in a much broader term, a supporting character.  Leads share a scene or chapter with several different characters.  Even if in the whole scheme of things, Boy A is considered a minor role, maybe for a scene, he serves as a secondary to the lead.  Get what I’m saying?  Yes, this is a srs thing. XD  I’m just trying to distract you from my possible cheating.  Hahahaha!

credit to OliverandPercy @ Tumblr

1. Oliver Wood from the Harry Potter series 
Note that I read the first HP book waaaay before the movies were even made.  So while Sean Biggerstaff!Oliver Wood is the highlight of the first movie, he was just icing on the cake for my love of Oliver Wood.  He played second fiddle to Harry Potter in a couple of scenes, even being the actual leader in some chapters.  Azkaban is his book with the Quidditch Final and all that; sadly, all of that was cut in the 3rd movie.  Sean Biggerstaff’s beautiful face and Scottish accent were the exact same visage and voice that I conjured up in my head for the Oliver Wood character.  Bravo, casting department.

2. Haymitch Abernathy from The Hunger Games trilogy 
As I mentioned in a previous post, Haymitch is my favorite Victor.  Not Katniss, not Peeta.  Haymitch.  Sure, it was Katniss and Peeta who saved their asses in the first arena but without Haymitch convincing Seneca to play up the love story, it wouldn’t have been front and center.  The Careers will bring in most of the action but Haymitch had the idea to give the fickle Capitol citizens something to cry over, break their funny little hearts.  He’s a functioning alcoholic.  But even with the influence of liquor, he strategized beautifully.  And we can’t forget how badass he was in his own games, a Quarter Quell.

3. Murtagh Fraser from the Outlander series
Jamie Fraser’s godfather.  An extremely loyal Scottish clansman.  I mentioned before that I don’t like anyone hurting my not so wee Jamie.  Therefore, I love anyone who cares deeply for him.  Murtagh may seem rough and tough but he definitely has a soft spot for his godson and Claire, Jamie’s wife.

4. Rudy Steiner from The Book Thief 
The only thing worse than a boy who hates you: a boy who loves you.  If you haven’t read The Book Thief, look away now.  Rudy’s death is one of the hardest to take.  I loved him as soon as he was first mentioned and I was rooting for him to survive the war and get together with Liesel.  I loved Max too but Rudy was just so precious.

5. Sophie Neveu from The Da Vinci Code 
Ahaha, so random!  I just thought of the Robert Langdon books and decided to pick #5 from the lot.  Sophie is my favorite Langdon leading lady because she kept her cool throughout the whole thing.  She thinks fast on her feet and she doesn’t wait for anyone to form her own solutions.  I like strong female characters.

That went well, don’t you think?  🙂

4 thoughts on “FIVE FRIDAY FAVORITES| Secondary Characters

  1. Great picks this week! I shared a lot of HP love and didn’t even think of Oliver Wood – HOW!?!?!!?!?! I LOVED HIM IN THE BOOK SERIES! I was so sad when they cut most of his scenes from the movies, especially when they picked such an attractive guy to play him. I also adore Haymitch, he’s such a brilliant character and he was one of my favourites in that series. Sophie Neveu is a really great choice too, I wouldn’t have even thought of that one. Here’s my FFF.

    Like

Thoughts?

