TOP TEN TUESDAYS | CLASSIC BOOKS

I know, I know.  I was gone for a month.  I got lazy.  Plain and simple.

Here’s a little rundown of what happened since the last time you saw me post here: I landed a new job and that took out most of my energies.  I now can literally WALK to work so that cuts out the precious commute time that doubles as my reading time.  I do get home when the sun is still in the sky but walking plus the stress at work saps a lot from me and I either fall flat on the bed after dinner.  Or after an episode of Sherlock.  Heh.  But I am trying to get back to the swing of things.  My brother is now with us so he uses my Kindle from time to time.  I might finally dig in to my pile of physical books.

I still can remember life without e-readers.  I mean, they’re a fairly new innovation and for yeeeeeaaaaars, people have been reading the written word.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday , we’re listing down the Top Ten Favorite Classic Books (however you define classic) or Top Ten Classics I Want To Read <or spin it some other way…”classics” in a specific genre?>

1. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
As if there was any doubt.  This is my favorite book of all time.  I read this once a year… yadda, yadda, boo.  I’m #TeamRochester and I’m unshakable on that opinion.  Mr. Darcy is fine but I prefer the insecurities of Mr. Rochester and the way he pined over Jane before coming clean with his feelings.  And Jane is not your typical innocent girl.  She is rather simple but that’s just because she’s led a simple life.  She’s headstrong and proud.

2. Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
Oh my poor termite-chewed ancient copy.  Yes, I still have it, termite holes and all.  XD  Reading it was like being in the caravan/journey with the Joads. It’s heartbreaking and painful but at the same time, hopeful.

3. The Lord of the Rings trilogy by JRR Tolkien
I debated for a second whether to put The Hobbit but I decided to go for LOTR.  JRRT managed to build a whole new world with races and languages and history.  Peter Jackson did an incredible job bringing it to life but Tolkien built it all inside his head.  And for that to grow into everything that it is now… Reading LOTR takes a lot of time, interest, and effort but I think completing the trilogy (and The Hobbit) can be considered an achievement.

4. The Complete Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
I’ve read a couple of Sherlock Holmes even before I knew who Benedict Cumberbatch was so don’t chalk this up to being a fangirl lol.  Everybody loves The Hound of the Baskervilles and I do, too.  But I somewhat prefer A Study in Scarlet.

5. The Complete Works of Edgar Allan Poe
I can’t choose!  You can have your Stephen King and Dean Koontz but when it comes to horror, I prefer Edgar Allan Poe.  A personal favorite is the forever chilling The Cask of Amontillado.  Oh man, I’ve read that story so many times but it still sends a chill up my spine.

6. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
This is not a classic novel list without good ole Jane Austen.  And no, this is not throwing further shade on Mr. Darcy.  I just prefer SS than PP.  I just feel that SS is a meatier story whereas PP had so much going on.  I was sucked into the Dashwood’s story easier than with the Bennets; less people to keep track of lol.

7. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
Ah, the original Gray.  I kid!  Why can’t we have books like this today?  Oh right, they’re already written.  I just love this story.  It’s scary and gothic and aaah… the movie wasn’t bad either.

8. Inferno by Dante
I’m not a fan of poetry but I attempted to read Divine Comedy.  I got as far as Inferno.  I admit, my interested was sparked by Dan Brown‘s book and wow, what a journey!  I might try and continue the trilogy (in my lifetime lol) but for now, I’m loving Inferno.

9. Dracula by Bram Stoker
They did dark and gothic so well back then.  Today, we have to suffer sparkly vampires with thick Southern accents. Oh joy.  One day, they will be called classics too.  Oi.  But don’t fret.  There are books published in the past ten years that are sort of “sequels” to the Dracula that doesn’t sparkle.

10. Heidi by Johanna Spyri
I need to put in a children’s book!  While Anne of Green Gables is one of my favorites, I prefer re-reading Heidi.  I grew up watching the Japanese anime version, Heidi, Girl of the Alps.  That led to my child self looking for the book and reading it.

There are so many classic novels out there.  I’ve heard people say that they want to read one or two just to say that they did or just to look smarter than the next person.  That shouldn’t be the case.  Enjoy reading because you enjoy what you’re reading.  I aim to read 2-3 classics every year (but considering I read The Hobbit or an LOTR book and Jane Eyre once a year anyway, that count goes down to one lol).  You should too.

Side note: I wanted to put Les Miserables by Victor Hugo on this list but my love of the musical is enough.  The thickness of the book scares the crap out of me.

4 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAYS | CLASSIC BOOKS

Thoughts?

