TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t

I missed this meme.  I really did.  So I’m thinking to backtrack to the week/s that I missed and fill those up too.  Lists keep me sane.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday , we’re listing down the Top TenBooks I Almost Put Down But Didn’t.

1. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult.  Oh wow.  I feel awful hating on this well-loved book but I don’t care. I had so many issues with how it all turned out, what a waste of time everything was for everyone involved, including the reader. I figured all the eventual cliches out by the first fourth of the book and already, I was disliking it so much. But alas, I soldiered on because everyone I know seemed to cry over it. Bleah, don’t waste anything on this book. Next time you see it, mosey on right along.

2. The Diary of Anne Frank.  If you are looking for serious Holocaust-related literature, this is NOT it.  I went through a phase where I inhaled anything Holocaust from reference books to memoirs.  This was on the top of my list thinking that it’ll give me the most in-depth and personal insight to that time of history.  No, it did not.  The Book Thief, a fiction, had more going on for it than this book.  I knew all about her jealousy for her sister than anything else and during that time – and even now – I care nothing for that.

3. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon.  I finished this because I love my niece.  (I’m not guilt-tripping you, Anakin, you’re good!)  But man, this was a hard book to read.  I beg you, book people, stop comparing this to well-loved series with established hard core fanbases.  This will never be as good as those.

4. Life After Life by Kate Atkinson. I think I actually stopped reading this and just skimmed some parts.  It’s boring as hell and it couldn’t hold my interest for more than five pages before I had to roll my eyes and skim again… just so I can get through it.

5. The Hypnotist by Lars Kepler. Once the main character blatantly says that he’s always right and he’s better than you, I start to rethink my decision to continue.  Joona Linna does it as soon as he’s introduced.  But since people compared this to The Millennium Trilogy (and I happen to like a lot of Swedish things) I was fooled into thinking that this is worth my time. Wrong.

6. A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis by Irene Woodbury. Ugh. If you’ve been to Las Vegas, you’ll get what I mean.  I had to finish this book because… (1) I was compensated, (2) I needed something to nitpick, and (3) I’m a masochist.

Okay, I have to stop before this turns to a hate list.  XD

One thought on “TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t

  1. Pingback: TOP TEN TUESDAYS | The Last 5 Years | Reading Good Books

Thoughts?

