BOOK BEGINNINGS FRIDAY #9

As I mentioned in a previous post, I am taking a couple of long flights in the coming weeks.  Not to mention a longer layover in Seoul, South Korea.  While I will be brushing up on my Korean, I brought with me an actual physical book on top of my Kindle.

Book Beginnings @ Rose City Reader. Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

That book is Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon.  Yes, if I were to purchase a physical book, I’ll get one from a series that I am currently loving and am planning to collect.

Normally, I would skip the prologue and quote the first chapter but with this, the prologue is so beautiful, I just had to:

I woke three times in the dark predawn. First in sorrow, then in joy, and at last, in solitude. The tears of a bone-deep loss woke me slowly, bathing my face like the comforting touch of a damp cloth in soothing hands. I turned my face to the wet pillow and sailed a saltry river into the caverns of grief remembered, into the subterranean depths of sleep.

I came awake then in fierce joy, body arched bowlike in the throes of physical joining, the touch of him fresh on my skin, dying along the paths of my nerves as the ripples of consummation spread from my center. I repelled consciousness, turning again, seeking the sharp, warm smell of a man’s satisfied desire, in the reassuring arms of my lover, sleep.

The third time I woke alone, beyond the touch of love or grief. The sight of the stones was fresh in my mind. A small circle, standing stones on the crest of a steep green hill. The name of the hill is Craigh na Dun; the fairies’ hill. Some say the hill is enchanted, others say it is cursed. Both are right. But no one knows the function or the purpose of the stones.

Except me.

I can hear Caitriona Balfe doing a voiceover for this.  I wanted to snap a photo of this and post it on Instagram even.  Guh, so lovely!

Thoughts?

