BOOK BEGINNINGS FRIDAY #9

After a week of skipping a BBF, I’m back with two.  Outlander took about 2.5 weeks to finish… I was devastated when it ended. XD And then my next book took roughly a day.

Book Beginnings @ Rose City Reader. Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

I was so tempted to go ASOIF on Outlander, read the rest of the series in one pass. But that big novel messed with my in so many ways. I loved – LOVED – it. It consumed my life. And it derailed my pseudo reading schedule. Heh. So many books, so little time.

This one is from Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens. I just posted my review of this book, having finished it on my morning commute to work:

BLACK funeral dress. Black heels. Black headband in my hair. Death has a style all its own. I’m glad I don’t have to wear it very often.

It totally sets the tone for the book. It is a very fast read but the topic is not light-hearted in the slightest.  I’ve been to a number of funerals in my life. I lost my dad and maternal grandmother within three months of each other over ten years ago. I still remember those days and weeks. But I never wore black. I only wore black at funerals if it is “my” funeral, you know what I mean?

Right after that, I started on Red Rising by Pierce Brown. They’re calling this the male Hunger Games or at least, the male Katniss. We’ll see. Whoever’s behind this put a lot of money on it. I’ve seen the book trailer at AMC cinema previews.

I would have lived in peace. But my enemies brought me war.

I watch twelve hundred of their strongest sons and daughters. Listening to a pitiless Golden man speak between great marble pillars. Listening to the beast who brought the flame that gnaws in my heart.

What was it that they said about Catching Fire?  “Every Revolution Begins With a Spark.” What is gnawing in this person’s heart?  A flame. Hm…

Thoughts?

