TOP TEN TUESDAYS | “Gateway” Books/Authors In My Reading Journey

What’s with all the journey- or travel-related themes in my blogging communities?  Is it because I’ll be going on my own journey in a few weeks’ time?

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday , we’re listing down the Top Ten “Gateway” Books/Authors In My Reading Journey (so your list could be a mix of a books that got you into reading, an author that got you into reading a genre you never thought you’d read, a book that brought you BACK into reading)

1. If you’ve been reading my blog for quite some time, you’d know that the Nancy Drew Mysteries by Carolyn Keene were the books that started it off for me.  The first one that I read was The Sign of the Twisted Candles.  I thought it was one of the best stories ever.  Then slowly, I built my collection… back when I – my parents, really – still bought books full-prized, some I got a gifts, and some were “taken” from a relative when they were moving.  My mom introduced me to them and it’s one of the millions of things I’m thankful for.  These yellow hardbound books opened up a whole new world.

2. While The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett is not the first big novel that I read and finished, that recognition goes to The Stand by Stephen King, I acknowledge Pillars the one that showed me that big novels need not be cumbersome, that they can be enjoyed and finished quickly.  Okay, it took me a good month to go through Pillars but I’d definitely read it again.  I loved both book and mini-series immensely.  I recently met Hayley Atwell at a premiere and thanks to Pillars, I was introduced to her.

3. I fell off the reading/blogging wagon some time last year.  But the author that brought me back into serious reading was James Rollinsand his Sigma Force series.  I received the 7th book in the series through GoodReads First Reads and I was intrigued.  I found Map of Bones, the 2nd in the series, at a used bookstore and so began a collection, obsession that even my mom shares.

4. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling reeled me into the most magical childhood ever.  It is the first series that I was emotionally invested in.  During the time when LOTR was way over my head, HP became that birthday/Christmas wish list staple.  I got into HP because my teacher picked Chamber of Secrets as a book report topic.  It was senseless to read a sequel book without  reading the first one so my dad bought the 3 books that were out at that time and I read all three inside of a month.

5. I don’t audiobook a lot.  But the title that made me appreciate it was The Red Necklace by Sally Gardner read by Tom Hiddleston.  Yes, Loki.  It’s not the first audio I’ve listened to, mind you.  I never had the attention span to finish an audiobook.  Like with music, I tend to tune it out after a while.  But since it was narrated by Hiddleston… attention = grabbed.  And the book ended up to be good also.  Now, I have a sizable audiobook collection as well as the one from Spotify.

One thought on “TOP TEN TUESDAYS | “Gateway” Books/Authors In My Reading Journey

  1. Pingback: TOP TEN TUESDAYS | The Last 5 Years | Reading Good Books

Thoughts?

