MUSING MONDAYS | READING BRICKS

I’m tackling two musings today.  I’m getting obsessed with the book – the world – that I’m currently immersed in, Outlander by Diana Gabaldon.  I had no idea how huge this is.  I mean, I’ve seen it at bookstores before and I know it’s a loooooong ass book but had I known what it was about before, I would’ve picked it up way sooner.

Thanks to the upcoming TV series, I’m firmly into the bandwagon.  Even without the series, I think would still love it.  The adaptation only served to ping my radar sooner than other books.

Musing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

I’ve always loved reading long books.  I like the challenge it poses.  How fast can you finish it?  How long will it take you to get lost in that world?  Will you be able to remember all the names, places, and events without backtracking?  Will you be able to stop yourself from looking up spoilers?

I’ve been reading Outlander on my Kindle.  It’s going well.  But I kind of want to switch to a physical book.  I read A Song of Ice and Fire series by George RR Martin, The Stand by Stephen King, and The Pillarof the Earth by Ken Follett in book form.  I loved the way you can feel how much longer you have left.  You can see that you’re past the halfway point, rather than seeing the percentages fly by.  And looking at my ASOIF collection, I’m like, “Holy cow! I read all those? Wow.”  I don’t have the same feeling when I look at my Harry Potter shelf.  Yes, it is a long series but the books are shorter.  My copy of  Pillars of the Earth is more than 1000 pages.  Each ASOIF book is around the same length.  According to Goodreads, Outlander is around 800 pages.  I’m going to break the halfway point either today or tomorrow but I don’t feel the same pride as I would’ve if I am reading a physical book.

Does that make sense?  I love my e-reader, don’t get me wrong.  But when reading a big novel, I prefer having the brick of a book in my hand.  I was at B&N over the weekend and I almost forked over $10 for an Outlander paperback.  And the The Exile graphic novel.  But I stopped myself.  Either I get it used or I soldier on with this digital copy. Because once I give in and get the book, I will have to get the sequels as well.  I went down that hole with ASOIF; I had to wait for Dances with Dragons to come out on paperback before getting it so that all my copies are similar.  Although my 2nd book was the TV tie-in version… oh well, Walmart had a good deal on them.

Les Miserables by Victor Hugo is another one of those big novels.  Yeah, I know the musical inside and out but what LesMis fan are you if you haven’t even attempted the book?  I would purchase a copy but a digital copy is free online.  I’m just being practical here.  I think my Kindle came with a free LesMis and Sherlock Holmes already downloaded on it. Eh.

But back to Outlander.  Where have I been all this time?!  But the most important thing is I’m here now.  I’m in the thick of it.  I was watching the fanmeet coverage by Starz last night and I’m just smitten by the actor they chose to play Jamie Fraser, Sam HeughanI can so see him as the adorable Jamie… I hope they do the wedding night as it were in the book.  “Have I hurt ye?!”  OMG, it’s like in A Clash of Kings with Gendry’s “I should be callin’ you ‘milady’.”  I just love it!

I feel an obsession coming on.  Guh, I have no regrets.  Starting on Outlander is one of the best reading decisions I’ve done.  And Sam Heughan is yet another hot European man to watch out for.  Bring it!

One thought on “MUSING MONDAYS | READING BRICKS

  1. Haha, really nice topic. I always have loved reading “bricks” too. I’m not really too competitive, I can read it for months but I like how deep you get into that book(s).
    Oulander is my favorite ones

    Like

Thoughts?

