BOOK BEGINNINGS FRIDAY #8

I’ve been good at featuring a different book every week.  But we might not see each other at this meme next week.  I’m reading Outlander by Diana Gabaldon.  And as you know, it’s a brick.  Like, Pillars of the Earth brick.

Book Beginnings @ Rose City Reader. Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

I’m barely 40% along and I’m already in love with Jamie!  He’s genuinely adorable.  Starz is adapting this to a 16-episode show featuring my favorite dwarf from The Hobbit, well… the actor Graham MacTavish who plays Dougal McKenzie in this show, and Dwalin in The Hobbit.  Just watch The Hobbit: The Unexpected Journey appendices and man, he’s just awesome.

I digress.  Of course, I picture him as well as the other actors cast in the roles as I read.  Sam Heughan as Jamie, yes please.  And I’m thinking to start spelling my name as Caitriona as with Caitriona Balfe who plays Claire.  I’m really enjoying it.  I wish I’m reading it on an actual book but alas, on the Kindle it is.

It wasn’t a very likely place for disappearances, at least at first glance.  Mrs. Baird’s was like a thousand other Highland bend-and-breakfast establishments in 1945; clean and quiet, with fading floral wallpaper, gleaming floors, and a coin-operated hot-water geyser in the lavatory.  Mrs. Baird herself was squat and easygoing, and made no objection to Frank lining her tiny rose-sprigged parlor with the dozens of books and papers with which he always traveled.

It sounds like an opener for a mystery story.  Off the bat, it teases of a disappearance in a place where everything seems quaint and normal.  Claire sounds like a headstrong woman.  And she is.  I love her.  All the other characters are so rich.  It does remind me a bit of A Song of Ice and Fire in a way that it does have a lot of characters but you can tell one from another easily.  They’re easy to remember as well.

 

Thoughts?

