TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Things On My Bookish Bucket List

On my other blog, I do have my Life Bucket List.  It’s an amazing feeling to cross out some items on there, especially the bigger ones: road trip across the continental United States is one.  And I did that twice!  I know I won’t be able to fulfill all of them but that doesn’t stop me from trying.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday , we’re listing down the Top Ten Things On My Bookish Bucket List (could be blogging related, book related etc. — meeting authors, reading x many books per year, finishing a daunting book, etc.)

1. Own a book-themed room.  I already talked about my dream bedroom in a previous Musings Monday post.  Aside from physical books, I have a lot of DVD sets and official merchandise.  I want to display them and gather dust while being admired instead of having them under my bed gathering dust.  I’m not asking for a library; I actually dislike lending books lol.  I just want wall-to-wall shelving with a lot of storage area.

2. Have as many actors, EVAN WRIGHT, and/or the real Marines sign my uber special copy of Generation Kill.  Here’s my tally so far: Stark Sands, Alexander Skarsgard, Jon Huertas, Rudy Reyes, Sal Alvarez, and Benjamin Busch.  There were other times where I’ve seen and met other GK actors but I can’t bring this book everywhere.  This is in my Life Bucket List as well.  But right now, I think I have a good amount of people on there.  Each signature has its own special story and my heart grows ten times in size every time I look at this book.  Generation Kill, both the book and the mini-series, has impacted my life so much.  I’ve met like-minded people as well as ones I consider life-long friends through this.  It opened my world to new talents, to untold stories, and … I really have so much love for this.

3. Finish my “Nate Eyre” fic.  Dude, I won NaNoWriMo 2010 with this piece.  2010!  And I’m still not done.  That’s 55,000+ words and counting.  A little background on this; if you frown upon fan fiction, look away now — It is in the Generation Kill fandom, Brad/Nate, NC-17 overall.  It is very loosely based on another one of my favorite works, Jane Eyre.  I put the best of both words and I have to say, this is my most-inspired works ever.  Unfortunately, I never finish a fic since.  Lately, I reread what I have so far and I think I finally found out a way to crawl out of the loophole that I dug for myself.  Now, I only have to put MS Word back into my Macbook Pro so I can work on it.

4. Work at a bookstore.  Or in publishing.  Or at least get a Barnes & Noble membership.  Isn’t this almost a cliche now?  A book lover, reader wanting a book-related job.  It sure looks and sounds like fun but I heard from a couple of friends who have worked at bookstores before that it is anything but.  I just want the employee discount lol.  I always thought that I would own more physical books if I could afford them better.

5. Own all the original Nancy Drew Mysteries 56-volume series published by Grosset & Dunlap.  This is the book series that started it all for me.  My mom read it when she was young and she introduced this to me when I was young.  Nancy Drew: The Sign of the Twisted Candles remains to be one of my favorites.  If only space weren’t an issue.

I would put Going back to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter in Orlando, Florida but our own Universal Studios Hollywood will have one in 2016-ish.  While it is a loooong time to wait, I think I can do that.  But if someone offers to take me to see Diagon Alley and the other stuff they added since I went, I’m game!  So…

6. Attend the grand opening of the Wizarding World of Harry Potter in the Universal Studios Hollywood.  I already missed the announcement ceremony with the Phelps/Weasley twins.  I’m forever kicking myself for not hearing about that.  For someone who frequents the Universal Studios/CityWalk, I’ve never been to any special events held there.  If I were to attend just one, this will be it.

7. Something simple, Finish reading all the series that I’ve started.  And I have a lot of unfinished series: Fifty Shades, Divergent, Vampire Academy, Vampire Diaries, Sookie Stackhouse, Dollanganger saga, Outlander… it just takes a certain amount of dedication that I don’t currently have to go through a series back-to-back.

8. Go on a book-inspired trip.  #1 on my list is the The Da Vinci Code tour, if that is still a thing.  Hobbiton is always in the plans… if by my life or death, I shall go there one day.

9. Read Harry Potter in Korean.  I have the entire series (e-book, really) in Korean.  I can read Hangul.  But my understanding of it is worse than a pre-school child.  XD  I have another book in Korean, 세상에 너를 소리쳐!  I would want to read this as well but that will be after reading HP.  세상에 너를 소리쳐! doesn’t have an official bound translated edition.

10. This is not really a book but the material started out from a book so it counts, right?  Be in a legit production of Les Miserables.  I don’t care which part; I’d take the chorus if need be.  (Eponine is my favorite vocal role though.)  I’m absolutely in love with the music and the story.  One day (more… lol), I will read the book.  It might take all year but I will see it done.  OMG, the LesMis puns!

 

2 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Things On My Bookish Bucket List

  1. #4 I work in publishing, but its pretty much like every other job. You dont get to read much books, but I do get employee discount. Then again, my company does children magazines and toys…

    Like

  2. Pingback: TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Authors | Shelf Pickings

Thoughts?

