MUSING MONDAYS| How I Read TAG!

Let’s do a tag for this week’s Musing Monday!

I’ve seen this tag going around last year.  But that was when I was on a book blogging hiatus.  Now that I’m back, it’s timely that I came across Rincey‘s video and it reminded me that this tag existed.  While I don’t do vlogs, we can tweak a thing to two to fit our purposes, right?

Here we go!

1) How do you find out about new books to read?
Book lists.  Usually, the year-end ones.  For this year, I’ve been perusing the lists of books with screen adaptations and really, just the recent movie releases.  A lot of them are originally books.  I also like going into book stores and looking at what’s new and selling well.  My phone, Kindle, and pockets are filled with lists of books to check out.

2) How did you get into reading?
My mom read a lot.  She wanted my brother and I to follow her.  When kids got Barbie and cooking sets as birthday gifts, I got Disney storybooks.  I do not regret it one bit.

3) How has your taste in books changed since you’ve gotten older?
I definitely read more now than when I was younger.  Before, I read only those “approved” by my mom – Nancy Drew Mysteries, The Hardy Boys, classics.  Now, it’s the other way around. 😉  It’s funny how now I read more Young Adult books than when I actually was a young adult.  I prided myself the only 10-year-old in my class that has read The Hobbit while the rest of the girls read The Babysitter’s Club.  (I still have not even picked up a copy of that series to this day.)

4) How often do you buy books?
Not regularly.  Even with coupons from B&N, I use those on DVDs.  The most recent books that I bought are usually movie companion books.  I have one for Catching Fire and The Hobbit Chronicles.

5) How did you get into booktubing/book blogging?
I joined GoodReads so I can get my hands on free books.  Well, that’s not the only reason but that is definitely one of them.  I started winning, 2-3 books every time and when they came, I had the idea to read and post them on my own blog instead of just on GoodReads or Amazon.

6) How do you react when you don’t like the end of a book?
Depends.  I’ve had urges to throw a book against the wall in frustration but a Kindle is expensive lol.  It involves a lot of eye rolling and head shaking and verbal outbursts of “O RLY? WTF?!”

7) How often have you taken a sneaky look at the back page of a book to see if it’s a happy ending?
More often than I would like.  I don’t mind spoilers.  In fact, it gives me something to look forward to especially if the book is proving to be a challenge.  To me, it’s like you know where it starts and how it ends, now how do we get to that?  But there are times when I go into a book or film totally blind.

8) How many people are you going to tag, and who are they?
If you’re reading this, go for it!  Don’t forget to link back to me. 🙂

Thoughts?

