WONDROUS WORDS WEDNESDAY | truculent

Hah, it’s not really Wednesday, I know.  Missed a few days of weeklies but that can’t be avoided.  This past week had been uber hectic but it had been fun.  I was so tired that I dozed off half the weekend.  But I did have some stuff planned out and so, here they are.

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where you can share new words that you’ve encountered or spotlight words you love.  Feel free to get creative!

This week, I started on Flowers in the Attic by VC Andrews.  I wasn’t feeling very well since Monday afternoon and that went on for the rest of the week.  I wasn’t reading on my commute home so that left me with about 1.5 hours of reading time per day.  I didn’t think I was going to finish it.  But on Thursday, I went to the red carpet, world premiere of Captain America: The Winter Soldier.  I had oh, eight hours to kill.  I managed to read the remaining 50% of the book while waiting and still had hours left.

The book was as dark and intriguing as everyone said it would be.  However, the vocabulary remained simple.  I only found one new-ish word and one other that I haven’t encountered in a while.

truculent (ˈtrʌk yə lənt, ˈtru kyə-)  adj.
1. aggressively hostile; belligerent

harridan  (hăr′ĭ-dn) n.
A woman regarded as scolding and vicious.

AKA, the horrid grandmother.  The book brought out so much emotion in me.  I absolutely loved it.  I do have a copy of the Lifetime movie adaptation and that looked so good.

2 thoughts on “WONDROUS WORDS WEDNESDAY | truculent

Thoughts?

