BOOK BEGINNINGS FRIDAY #7

Just when I thought that I won’t be able to finish a book this week, I had some major down time come my way.  I began my week manning a booth at a convention.  I did that for three long days.  I wasn’t able to do much reading because I couldn’t (at convention hours) and I wasn’t feeling all that well.  I wasn’t getting enough sleep and I just can’t read with a pounding headache.

Then, Thursday came.  It was my 1st red carpet premiere event of the year.  Captain America: The Winter Soldier.  As you know, the event itself starts at around 5-6PM.  To secure a good spot, you better come early.  Like 9AM… or earlier.  I’m not kidding.  In fact, 9AM is pretty late.  I got lucky.  And while waiting, I finished a book.  And started another one.

Book Beginnings @ Rose City Reader. Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

The book is Dark Places by Gillian Flynn:

I have a meanness inside me, read as an organ.  Slit me at my belly and it might slide out, meaty and dark, drop on the floor so you could stomp on it.  It’s the Day blood.  Something’s wrong with it.  I was never a good little girl, and I got worse after the murders.

And I will leave it at that.  It’s a loooooong first paragraph.

As with the other books I’m reading, this has a planned movie adaptation starring Charlize Theron and Nicholas Hoult.  I perked up when I saw his name on the cast list but at the same time, scratched my head at Ms. Theron’s involvement.  Uh… Libby Day, the main character, the one she will be playing, is barely 5′ tall.  Oh-kay.  Whatever, I guess.

I honestly couldn’t put the book down.  I mean, I haven’t made a dent on it yet (because I don’t read on the weekends) but from what I’ve read so far, I dig.  Also, it reminds me those Criminal Minds/CSI type shows where they say that violence might be in the genes or “I might be like my [family member] who is violent and unstable,” you know.  Flynn’s more famous novel is Gone Girl, I have that too but this drew me in first.

Thoughts?

