TOP TEN TUESDAYS | BEST BOOK-TO-SCREEN BOOKS

These past few months, I’ve become an equal opportunity reader.  Before, I stayed away from anything YA and the hardcore Sci-Fi.  Now, most of the books I’ve TBR’d and/or read are considered YA.  (I still won’t care too much for Christian Fiction though. Even I have limits.)

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday , we’re listing down the Top Ten All Time Favorite Books in X Genre (you pick the genre!)

My choice is not actually a genre per se.  But more like a category.  It’s the same but not really.  Some of these books have nothing in common with each other apart from the fact that… THEY HAVE SCREEN ADAPTATIONS.  I’ve read a number of YA, vampire fiction, paranormal, zombie fiction, non-fiction, historical fiction, true crime, military history… I even dedicated an entire year to book about The Borgias.  While I can do a list on those, I’m more comfortable in doing it with my current “obsession” which is the book-to-film shelf.  (Sara Poole‘s books about the Borgias are great.)

  1. The Lord of the Rings trilogy by JRR Tolkien.  I can talk about this to the death.  I love the book and especially the movies so damn much.  Sure, it is not 100% faithful but the liberties did not take anything away from the books.  The liberties they took helped the story, made it so much more, and frankly, made me love it even more.
  2. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling.  I never enjoyed a HP film as much as this one.  I know all the words, facial expressions and all.  The first book was a mind-opener.  It began what would become a huge part of my childhood.  I was so invested in everything about these characters.  The actors, not so much but I can never picture other people in those roles.
  3. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson.  I’m talking about the Swedish version.  The Hollywood version was fine but eh… the Swedish one with Noomi Rapace was just so much better.  How I wish they had Stellan Skarsgard on that one too.
  4. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones.  Is it a crime to say that my favorite character in the movie was not in the book?  Heeeeeeeeen!  This is a feast for the eyes.  The book was so magical and the movie, even more so.  Plus, some characters were voiced by Peeta and Johanna. 😉
  5. Speaking of Peeta and Johanna, Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins.  They say it is rare to have the sequel surpass the first one.  I feel that this book and movie did that.  I thought Catching Fire is the better book and movie.
  6. The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak.  If you want faithful, this movie is for you.  Both book and movie are so beautiful and magical.  The book has been on my “to-always-recommend” list since the moment I read it and now, the movie is part of that list also.
  7. Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris.  Oh. Man.  If you haven’t at least SEEN this movie, you’re missing out.  If you’re a fan of those CSI, Criminal Minds shows, you need to see and/or read this.
  8. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. Consider the 2006 mini series with Ruth Wilson.  That is the most complete and by far, the best adaptation.  Sorry, Michael Fassbender.
  9. Brokeback Mountain by Annie Proux.  Wow, just… wow.  The movie had me in tears.  The book is so short, all I did was read a chapter every time I dropped by a bookstore.
  10. The HBO Military Dramas: Band of Brothers, Generation Kill, and The Pacific.  All of them have book sources.  GK is a personal favorite.  Like with LOTR, I can talk about this until you and I are six feet under (another HBO masterpiece).  

 

10 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAYS | BEST BOOK-TO-SCREEN BOOKS

  1. I totally agree about the Swedish version of Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, though I have to admit, the rape scene was HARD to watch. Really, really hard. Nice list, never would have thought to take this direction with it!

    Like

    • Thank you!

      Yeah, that’s why I’m okay if they don’t do Hollywood versions of the 2 remaining novels. The Swedish ones were great, even when dubbed.

      Like

  2. I loved Catching Fire best among the books, too! Didn’t get to watch the movie, but all the trailers evoked so much emotion from me. (Also, Finnick! *cries*)

    There is such a thing as Christian fiction..? That sounds weird. Lemme check Google.

    Ok, Goodreads lists Narnia as Christian fiction. Have you read Narnia or do you just not consider it as Christian fiction? 🙂

    Like

    • The DVD is out. 😉 It was great. Super long but super fun din.

      Hahah, yes. I think I have one Christian Fiction review here on the blog. Basta yung maraming mentions ng Bible, Jesus, etc. Not my thing when it comes to leisure reading. LOL I don’t consider Narnia as Christian fiction at all. Just because CS Lewis is rather hardcore religious, doesn’t mean all his stuff is “religious”. Eh di dapat, LOTR din.

      Btw, are we Goodreads friends?

      Like

      • I don’t have a Goodreads account! *hangs head in shame*

        Sayang, I thought Narnia counted as CF. I actually enjoyed his interpretation of God/Aslan and paradise/death in the last book. 🙂

        I enjoy Mitch Albom books (some) but I don’t think I can read a novel full of preachy stuff. Might as well just read our old GMRC books. Haha

        Like

      • If anything, medyo may pagka-blasphemous pa nga yung works ni CS Lewis. Definitely not Christian Fiction. XD

        Mitch Albom is all right. I liked Tuesdays and Phone Call. Yung Five People, keri lang. Medyo magulo.

        Like

  3. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – DAY TWENTY-SIX | Reading Good Books

Thoughts?

