BOOK BEGINNINGS FRIDAY #6

I finished two book this week!  Both are short books but very different from each other.  One thing they have in common are the movie adaptations.  I already talked about Labor Day: A Novel by Joyce Maynard in my previous BBF, not to mention a full review.  I finished the next book yesterday and started a new one this morning.  So I have two BBFs for you!

Book Beginnings @ Rose City Reader. Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

The first one is The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp:

So, it’s a little before ten a.m. and I’m just starting to get a good buzz going on.  Theoretically, I should be in Algebra II, but in reality I’m cruising over to my beautiful fat girlfriend Cassidy’s house.  She ditched school to get her hair cut and needs a ride because her parents confiscated her car keys.  Which I guess is a little ironic considering that they’re punishing her for ditching school with me last week.

For the last 3-4 books that I’ve read, the ending always saves the rest of the book.  Or the ending was way better than how it started.  In this case, I preferred the first half from the second.  A full review will come after I’ve seen the movie.  I was watching snippets last night and I realized that there are so many points of contrast in the book vs the movie.  It’s going to be interesting pointing those out.

This morning, I went ahead and started with this.  This was a looooong time coming.

Prologue

It is so appropriate to color hope yellow, life that sun we seldom saw.

Yes, Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews.  This is almost ten years in the making.  I haven’t seen any of the adaptations though.  I like these kinds of dark dramas, it’s like those noir shows in black and white.

I’m still keeping with my book-to-film challenge.  However, I don’t want to keep reading YA books.  Do you have any non-YA book-to-film titles to recommend?  Thank you!

One thought on “BOOK BEGINNINGS FRIDAY #6

Thoughts?

