MUSING MONDAYS | Awards

I’m still reeling from last night’s Oscars!  It was perfect in so many ways!  Here’s my reaction post to everything.  I am still crying the happiest of tears!  ❤

Musing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

Some people watch award-nominated movies before the awards shows.  I do the opposite.  I watch them after they win/lose.  And I usually wait until the awards season is over before starting on them.  Although I might catch some of the the more popular ones before the Golden Globes.  Either way, the awards shows drum up my interest in watching these nominated films.

It’s the same with books.  Granted, I’m not as familiar with book awards than acting awards, I still note the ribbons and medals stuck on the book covers on the shelves.  Edgars, Man Booker, Pulitzer, Nobel, etc… half the time, I wouldn’t hear about the book until it gets shortlisted or awarded.  Add to that, the Year-end lists.  I usually get recommendations from those.  The point is, these books catch my attention because of that recognition.  “Let’s see what makes you great.”  And even with the recognition, these books are still hit and miss.

And it’s the same with movies.  American Hustle had tons of nominations and some wins but I didn’t think it was that good of a movie.  Apparently, the Academy didn’t either.  When I read The Coldest Girl in Cold Town, almost every year-end list loved it… I didn’t.

Sometimes, I wish I were in panels like those.  To choose – basically, judge – books and films.  And I want in on those advance and screener copies!  And just to lose yourself in all of that.   To read for a living; to get paid watching movies… I want that.

This is different but related to HYPE.  Hype can make or destroy a book or a movie.  On many occasions, both.  A lot of hype is generated by fans… fans, with questionable and differing tastes.  Hype that is from winning awards is different.  You have to give the work the benefit of the doubt.  These experienced, professional critics see something we don’t.  We don’t have to agree with them though.  Be the Roger Ebert that you like.

I’m not saying that non-lauded books/movies are crap.  Of course you can find gems in the rough.  I just watched Non-Stop starring Liam Neeson and I got to admit, it was worth the time and money.  There’s no chance in hell it will be nominated for anything but it was still good.  All I’m saying is that these nominations and awards serve as huge exposure to a work.  I put a certain amount of trust to these organizations when they say something is good or bad.

2 thoughts on “MUSING MONDAYS | Awards

  1. I have a problem with most of the movies that win awards. They usually are not my cup of tea. Even before viewing a movie if it is based on a book, I read the book first, if I like the book, I may view the movie. Movie that entertain me never win awards, I don’t know what that says about me! hee, hee.

    Like

Thoughts?

