BOOK BEGINNINGS FRIDAY #4

Oh hey!  I have two books this week.  Vampire Academy was a quick read so I finished that on Wednesday.  I spent the whole day Thursday picking my next read.  I read the first chapters of 2-3 books before deciding on Odd Thomas.

Book Beginnings @ Rose City Reader. Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

This is from Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead:

I felt her fear before I heard her screams.

Her nightmare pulsed into me, shaking me out of my own dream, which had had something to do with a beach and some hot guy rubbing suntan oil on me. Images-hers, not mine – tumbled through my mind: fire and blood, the smell of smoke, the twisted metal of a car.  The pictures wrapped around me, suffocating me, until some rational part of my brain reminded me that this wasn’t my dream.

It’s very YA, Gossip Girl-y.  Not that I’ve read Gossip Girl.  It’s a teenage girl’s thoughts, twisted metal images aside.  I read it because I saw a bit of the movie.  I might watch it full on video or $2 movie, maybe.

But I did appreciate this opening paragraph when I finished the book.  The book reads like a screenplay.  It doesn’t really establish back stories; it explains it to you as you go along.  Going in, I thought this was just an ordinary dream but towards the end, this moment seems to be pretty important.

And this one from Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz. The whole first part is quite snarky and awesome:

My name is Odd Thomas, though in this age when fame is the altar at which most people worship, I am not sure why you would care who I am or that I exist.

I am not a celebrity.  I am not a child of a celebrity. I have never been married to, never been abused by, and never provided a kidney for transplantation into any celebrity.  Furthermore, I have no desire to be a celebrity.

This is the stuff for my other blog.  “Odd” pretty much nailed the reasons why people become famous.  Talent seems to take a back seat nowadays. I can go on and on about this subject but that’s why I have another blog, right?  😉

Odd Thomas is another book-to-film book starring Star Trek’s Anton Yelchin.  It’s been a while since I read a Dean Koontz book.  (Yeah, the last one was when I was technically still a kid.)

 

3 thoughts on “BOOK BEGINNINGS FRIDAY #4

Thoughts?

