BOOK BEGINNINGS FRIDAY #3

It doesn’t matter when I start a book, I seem to always finish on a Friday.  Probably on my commute home.  Then I’ll spend the weekend either mulling on my next read or not think about reading at all.  Gasp!  I know!

This week’s book came as a suggestion from my lovely niece.  Well, not so much as a suggestion… more like a mention.  We were talking about Hollow City and this title came up.  She said she wanted to read this book but it wasn’t available in the Philippines yet.  I haven’t seen it here in the US either but then again, I may not be paying attention lol.

I really didn’t need another dystopian read but I wanted to know what it was about.  So I got it on my Kindle and I’m less than 10% from finishing as I’m typing out this post.

Book Beginnings @ Rose City Reader. Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

This is from The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon:

I like to imagine there were more of us in the beginning.  Not many, I suppose.  But more than there are now.

We are the minority the world does not accept.  Not outside of fantasy, and even that’s blacklisted.  We look like everyone else.  Sometimes we act like everyone else.  In many ways, we are like everyone else.  We are everywhere, on every street.  We live in a way you might consider normal, provided you don’t look too hard.

All right, we get it!  You’re like everyone else!

It sounds like a movie voice over that the lead actor/actress does at the start of the movie.  Or at the very end before the credits.  The screen would show a busy city – usually, NYC – with people in corporate attire are walking, toting their briefcases and talking on the phone.  Then the camera pans to a solitary character in all-black scanning the crowd from a rooftop.

It’s a pretty generic opener to … anything, really.  Don’t rely on this first paragraph to grab your interest because it just won’t.  But don’t let that stop you from continuing.

The way my mind works, especially with these YA stuff, is that I create a dream cast to go with the characters.  There’s a Swedish guy in the story and my mind immediately went to Alexander Skarsgard.  Hah!  And the author herself has the same idea.  Having met both of her “main guy” choices, I can see ASkars but on the fence about Cumberbatch.  But I agree on everything else.

But that’s for another post.

2 thoughts on “BOOK BEGINNINGS FRIDAY #3

Thoughts?

