TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Books That Will Make You Cry

I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to make ten books.  (Honestly, I cry more at fanfiction than actual books.)  Let me add some movies then we might have a list!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday about books that will make you cry. Usually the books that made me cry the hardest tend to be the ones I love the most.

Okay, some of these books didn’t exactly make me cry the ugly cry.  A few tears and choking here and there, maybe.  I just don’t cry that much while reading.  When I feel the emotions coming, I stop and collect myself.  When I read fanfiction, it’s usually in the privacy of my room so when a particularly angsty scene gets to me, I let it flow.  Movies, same.  But I have no qualms sobbing at a movie theatre. 😉

Pretty much everyone will have The Fault In Our Stars in their list.  I haven’t read it yet and have no plans to do so until the weeks/days leading up to the movie.  Y’all spoiled it for me…  I mean, the hype killed my interest.  Pfft.

SPOILER ZONE

1. Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom.  I just finished The First Phone Call from Heaven.  It was good but Tuesdays will always be my favorite Albom work.  I remember, it was homeroom at my 2nd year of high school.  I was quietly sitting in the corner waiting for my classmates to pile in.  As I neared the end, my friends started to chatter and laugh but the bubble that I was in didn’t burst.  I think I scared some of them when I started sobbing.  LOL!

“If I could have had another son, I would have liked it to be you.”

Tears down my face.  ;__;

2. Les Miserables (2012 film).  I was ugly crying at the movie theater.  And it wasn’t an empty movie theater.  I don’t care.  I cried several times during that movie.  “Yes, Cossette.  Forbid me now to die.” Whut?!  And Amanda Seyfried‘s face during that scene, omg.  And Fantine’s Death.  I dare you not to shed tears.  DARE. YOU.

3. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling. When Fred Weasley died. It was like the ground fell out from under me.  You don’t do that, author.  You just don’t.  I read Deathly Hallows in 17something hours straight and Fred’s death was the only time I stopped for more than five minutes.  And man, Lupin and Tonks.  So many good people dying.

4. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by JK Rowling. Sirius Black’s death.  Again, I did not expect that.  Just when I thought Harry finally found a father figure, he dies.  He fcking dies.  Come to think of it, Harry never ever caught a break in the whole series.

(I can also put in Dumbledore’s death in Half-blood Prince but I kind of had a feeling early on that he was going to die eventually.)

5. The Lion King. When Simba snuggled under a dead Mufasa’s paw.  ;___;  Basically any scene where a parent dies.  Because I can relate.  It’s something so close to home.  And the image of a little Simba nudging his fallen father.  I just can’t.

6. Frozen.  Their awesome as fck singing voices make me cry.  And in Do You Want to Build A Snowman, when Anna says to Elsa that it’s just the two of them, “what are we gonna do?”  That feeling of hopelessness tugs at me.  I’ve lost a parent and I know how hard it is to cope and move on from that; as if you’ve lost your direction in life.  Also in Let It Go, the tears weren’t sad.  You can feel Elsa being empowered and for the first time in her life, proud of her abilities.

7. Life of Pi by Yann Martel.  Again, going back to the loss of parent.  Here, Pi loses EVERYTHING and I don’t think he had the time to grieve.  And he had to survive on top of all that emotion. I was actually crying inside rather than a physical display of emotion.

8. Hula Girls.  It’s a movie with my favorite Japanese actrees, Yu Aoi.  It’s a story about a small mining Japanese town that is struggling economically and emotionally.  Somehow, they find new life in hula dancing.  It’s a feel good movie and the tears are definitely happy.

That’s it.  I can’t think of any other book or movie that made me cry.  I’m willing to do a fanfic rec but that’s for another time.

3 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Books That Will Make You Cry

  1. Lion King makes me want to cry too, but I’ve seen it so many times I should be immune by now. Deathly Hallows crushed me in a way no book has ever done before. Fred’s death really hurt, but the one death I cried the most about was Snape. He was my favorite character from the very beginning, even though everyone else in my 4th grade class hated him. I think that’s part of the reason i stuck by him even when he was being a total jerk.

    Like

  2. Yes to HP5 and Les Mis! How I cried when Order of the Phoenix ended 😦 and Fantine’s scenes are just begging for buckets of tears from me, and I happily obliged. haha, I love this movie!

    Like

Thoughts?

