BOOK BEGINNINGS FRIDAY #1

I remember a topic in a lifestyle forum called “Turn to Page 394”.  If you’re a Harry Potter fan, you’d get it.  But it wasn’t just for HP fans.  It just meant, turn to 394 and share the first line of text of whatever book you choose.  It wasn’t weekly or anything.  All the members of that forum are welcome to do it whenever they pleased, blogger or non-blogger.  It was interesting to see what the other forum members are reading.  There was this one girl who quoted her math book!  And yes, you have to pick a book that has 394+ pages.

For this week, I chose to participate in the Book Beginnings Friday meme.

Book Beginnings @ Rose City Reader. Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

I average about one book a week so I think I can have a different quote every Friday.  Or at least, I will try to. 😉

Today, I have for you The First Phone Call from Heaven by Mitch Albom.

On the day the world received its first phone call from heaven, Tess Rafferty was unwrapping a box of teabags.

Drrrrnnn!

Dun, dun, DUUUUUN.  As if the title wasn’t intriguing enough, the book opens with that line.

I remember reading Tuesdays with Morrie and literally bawling my eyes out at my home room class.  I think I scared my seatmate because one moment I was silent then sobbing the next.  I didn’t shed tears for The Five People You Meet in Heaven but the TV movie, I liked that.  I haven’t read the other Albom books until I came across this one late last year.

I love the contrast in that one sentence.  Tess Rafferty is doing something mundane and at the same time, something extraordinary happens!  I am currently halfway through and I’ve been very good at not reading other reviews and spoiling myself.  So far, the book has been living up to this very fascinating opener.

Maybe the five people you meet in heaven are the ones making the phone calls.  Who knows? 😉

One thought on “BOOK BEGINNINGS FRIDAY #1

  1. Pingback: Review: The First Phone Call from Heaven | Reading Good Books

Thoughts?

