WONDROUS WORDS WEDNESDAY | slovenly

Who knew these things are so much fun?  Well, you probably would.  I’m late to the party.

There weren’t many choices for Wednesday.  I tried the WWW questions before but I can’t do that every time.  And since I don’t really keep up with new releases, I can’t do the wishlist meme either.  I figured since I read from a cross of many genres, I can do this vocabulary thing.

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where you can share new words that you’ve encountered or spotlight words you love.  Feel free to get creative!

BermudaOnion hosts Wondrous Words Wednesday.  When I was reading Life After Life by Kate Atkinson, I could’ve filled up months of this.  But I forgot those words as fast as I could read them… that book was so difficult to read.  So I decided to follow it up with something relatively lighter, The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick.  And I found the perfect word for this meme:

slov·en·ly  (slŭv′ən-lē)adj.

1. Untidy, as in dress or appearance.
As used in a sentence:
She says we will be eating takeout, and when my father is not home, everything will be as it was before she wrote the note, but when my father is home, we will be slovenly.
I doubt I’ll use this word in normal conversation though.
6 thoughts on “WONDROUS WORDS WEDNESDAY | slovenly

  1. Slovenly is not a new word for me. Actually, I dislike slovenliness when it comes to my house. I am always cleaning up and making things tidy. I can’t sit and read if things around me are messy. I’m glad you joined in today.

    Like

  2. Thanks for dropping by, ladies! 🙂

    I see. Oh well, the downfalls of not being a native English speaker. But I get to learn new words. This meme is definitely helping it along.

    Like

  3. Welcome to the game! I knew slovenly too, but the point is, YOU learned something by coming to this party. Hope we see you again! And, I have three boys… I bet I could use slovenly sometime soon… Not that I’m making any generalizations or anything. 🙂

    Like

  4. Welcome to this meme. We are few but we are wondrous. I knew slovenly too, but I don’t use it on a regular basis. It was however, one of my mom’s favorite words. We weren’t just messy, nor cluttered, not even untidy, our rooms were slovenly and therefore needed immediate attention!!!. She is gone now, I miss her.

    Like

Thoughts?

