June is Audiobook Month #JIAM2012

Happy June!  🙂  I hope May was good you all of you.  It certainly was for me.

Did you know what June is Audiobook Month?  I didn’t.  Thank you,  GoodReads, for informing me about this.  I love audiobooks.  I think it is a good option for getting your reading done when you cannot physically crack open a book.  Some of us go to school and/or go to work and at the end of the day, we’re just too tired to do much else.  I can certainly relate to that.  Before getting a job, I had all day to read.  But now, my reading time is reduced to hour-long train rides.  No bueno.

But I am fortunate to have a job that allows me to plug on my earphones and zone out the rest of the office.  Thank goodness for Spotify and Talking Classics for being readily available for free online.  (Also, I have been enjoying the Twilight Zone Radio Dramas through Spotify.)  I can always load up an audiobook on my iPod/iPad/nook if I can’t find it online.  I found that whenever I listen to an audiobook at work, time seems to fly by faster.

Over the years, I have accumulated a fair share of audiobooks, both CD copies and mp3 files.  Like a true collector, I have both Generation Kill and One Bullet Away on audio.  OBA is narrated by its author, Nathaniel Fick, which makes it so much more awesome that the book already is.  Patrick Lawlor reads GK and it is probably the most listening fun I’ve had.  Other titles in my collection are Room by Emma Donoghue, The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs, Dead to the World by Charlaine Harris, and The Red Necklace by Sally Gardner read by Tom Hiddleston.

There are so many places to get audiobooks.  Bookstores have a special rack for them.  I got my OBA CD set on eBay.  And of course, the Internet.  Ever since the popularity of iTunes and portable mp3 players, authors have released audio versions of their books alongside hard and digital copies.  Some are read by the authors themselves, some read by actors, and there are also books read by a whole cast of characters.  It is so interesting to hear how the words are acted out.

If you have not tried an audiobook, now is a good time to start.  There are many places to get free audiobooks, especially for classics.  I’ve already mentioned Talking Classics on Spotify.  Here are some other sources:

So, have you heard any good books lately?

Thoughts?

