Books Read in 2011 (Part 2)

I have been making good progress with my 2012 Reading Challenge.  I finished three easy books over the last week.  Coincidentally, two of them have movie versions… that I have yet to watch.  Even the book that I am currently reading has a movie version.  Is this a theme forming?  I could.

Anyway, thank you for the great feedback to Part 1 of this “look back” to 2011.  Also, huge thanks to author Max Allan Collins for taking the time to comment and posting a link to that entry on his blog.  It means so much to me and it makes all this worth it.

What you will see on this next batch of books are titles that I have reviewed on this blog.  It was around this time that I started this little baby.  So I probably won’t say all that much about them.  So without further ado, here’s part two.

19. The Art of Saying Goodbye by Ellyn Bache *

This was one of the first books that I won off of GoodReads First Reads.  I remember it came in the mail wrapped in a cute ribbon.  This book was sad but very inspiring.  It’s sort of “looking at the brighter things in life” kind of thing when faced with a terminal illness.

20. Daphne and the Silver Ash by Joss Llewelyn *

This was my first author-sponsored review.  Meaning, the author contacted me personally and gifted me a copy of his book for review considerations.  It is such a gratifying feeling to hear kind words from an author.  It is nice to know your work is appreciated.

21. Dominance by Will Lavender *

How much did I love this book?  A LOT.  The last two-three pages were so worth it.  Even my mother loved it.  (Yes, we recommend books to each other.)  This is the first ever book that I won off First Reads.  My ARC of this book is so well-loved.  I think it’s with my brother now, in the Philippines.  I can’t wait for him to read it!

22. The Orchard by Jeffrey Stepakoff *

I’m not very big into romantic stories.  But I liked this one.  I thought it was sweet and very feel-good.  Like the other books so far, I also won this from First Reads.

23. Love a la Carte by Jeffrey Stepakoff *

I got it for free on the B&N site.  A companion piece to The Orchard.  I think it was promoted as an introduction/teaser to the novel but I think you’d have to have read that in order to fully understand this.

24. Nowhere to Go by Iain Rowan *

The first of many short story collections that I read last year.  And I must say, I enjoyed them a lot.  This one in particular was pretty creative.  I liked the variety and it was so interesting how it all tied up together.

25. Dark Matter Heart by Nathan Wrann *

I also received a copy of this from the author for review consideration.  It is YA and I am not the biggest fan of YA.  But I found this to be different from the rest of the vampire YA in the pool.  It captured my attention enough to be intrigued about the next installment.

26. Songbird by Angela Fristoe *

This is the first book that I reviewed off of my LibraryThing Member Giveaway winnings.  Another YA books and this one did not capture me as well as the last one.  This book had a lot of aspects of YA that I didn’t like.  I remember it having a promising mystery subplot.  That, I enjoyed.

27. The Devil Colony by James Rollins *

Number 7 is not really a good point to start a series but I did it anyway.  This is the 7th book in the Sigma Force series.  I was pretty excited to receive a FREE hardbound copy of a book.  And apparently, it has a huge following.  I’m working on getting the rest of the series.  It definitely has a Dan Brown-ish feel to it.

28. The First Days by Rhiannon Frater *

If you know me, you would know how much I love The Walking Dead and the zombie lore.  I loved this book, the first installment of As The World Dies trilogy.  Author Rhiannon Frater shared my entry on her Facebook fan page for the trilogy.

29. Sex, Lies, and Soybeans by Rick Goeld *

This was on very strange book.  I still don’t know what to make of it.  I don’t know.  I’m not sure.  Just read my review on it.

30. Shadows on the Sand: A Seaside Mystery by Gayle Roper *

One of the good things about keeping a book blog and getting free books is that it opens me up to titles that I would otherwise pass up.  Case in point, Christian Fiction.  Along with YA, I tend to avoid these shelves.  I did enjoy the mystery aspect of the books and I was glad that there wasn’t much Bible quoting.  Nothing against that… I just prefer to not have that in the stuff I read.

31. Concerto by Sandra Miller *

I’ve liked every single mystery story on this list so far.  But this one?  Not so much.  It had promise but the execution wasn’t very good.  I could often guess who did the crime in mystery stories halfway through the book but this one gave it up within the first third.  Eh.

32. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

Do I really need to talk about this book?  Can you tell what movie was about to come out around this time?  The first time I read it, it took me 18 straight hours cover-to-cover.  This time, I did it in 6-hour chunks.

33. Isle of Stumps by Bryan R. Dennis *

I remember this being a quick read.  Another one of those short story collections.  It’s a bit freaky but I enjoyed it.

34. Freaks: A Rizzoli & Isles Short Story by Tess Gerritsen *

I love the TNT show Rizzoli & Isles.  I might as well try the book series.  I got this for free from B&N, I think.  I liked it but I like the show more.

35. Leaves of the Fall by Violet Yates *

I have immense respect for indie authors.  To self-publish, to put your work out there takes guts.  But it doesn’t mean it’s going to be good.  I’m not saying this one wasn’t good, only it wasn’t anything special.

36. Freeze by Daniel Pyle *

Surprisingly, I liked it.  I’m saying “surprisingly” because it takes a lot for a horror movie to scare me, even just a little, let alone a horror book.

*****

Part two down.  A couple more titles to go.  Watch out for lovey romantic books for the rest of this month.

Thoughts?

