Why not try a book?

If there are e-reader snobs, there are also book snobs.  Yes, I’ve encountered a couple of people who think buying and reading physical books is no longer relevant.  I proudly stand in the middle.  I love my books and my e-readers.

I still want physical copies of my favorite books, the beautifully illustrated editions, and of course, the literary classics that never go out of style.  At the same time, digital copies lessen my “regret” if the book I was reading turned out to be crappy or not to my liking.  There are pros and cons but it all boils down to what the reader prefers.

How about you?  How do you like your literature?  🙂

One thought on “Why not try a book?

  1. I was a total book snob up until September, when I actually used a Kindle (but only because Stephen King had released an e-book that wasn’t available in hard copy). I’m still torn, because I did like it, better than I thought I would for sure–but I don’t know if I liked it enough to buy one. I love haunting bookstores, especially used bookstores, to find that treasure of a book. And I love holding books and fanning through the pages and just enjoying the experience. But I can see the upsides of an e-reader for travel and commutes and whatnot. Plus I recently heard about a nifty feature where you can highlight and bookmark pages and quotes you want to remember, which I like, since I don’t like to write in my own books.

    So at this point I’d still say I’m 80% in favor of books, as opposed to 100% books several months ago. Still not enough to convince me to buy an e-reader, though.

    Like

Thoughts?

