Review: A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis by Irene Woodbury

A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis / Irene Woodbury

Published August 16th 2011 by SynergEbooks.

Description from GoodReads:

Quirky jobs, wacky friends, hot crushes, and an unraveling marriage are all part of this darkly funny novel describing 45 year-old newlywed Wendy Sinclair’s life in Las Vegas after she impulsively decides to stay following a bizarre girls’ weekend in 2005.

Where… where do I even begin?

Okay, some parts were entertaining.  At least, entertaining enough that I finished the whole thing.  I’ve been to Las Vegas and I know how crazy it is out there.  I’ve also been around the glamorous part of LA.  The places mentioned in the book are familiar to me.  But…

I really don’t know how to say this and I do not want/like giving negative reviews but getting through this book took more effort than usual.  Don’t forget to factor in personal tastes here.  Chick lit is not a genre that I read often.  And with good reason (that I shall keep to myself).  I just did not enjoy this.  It was more tedious than amusing.  It got redundant with all the tacky “hunka-hunka burnin’ love” mentions, the constant revisiting of Wendy and Roger’s unconventional married life, shopping and enumeration of items bought and ate, the catfights… everything.  It was all filler and it droned on and on.  I think the adventures are supposed to be the exciting parts but it bored me.  The Vegas parts were pretty accurate and were somewhat interesting but that’s about it.

I didn’t like any of the characters.  Wendy, especially.  They were pretentious, fake, and frustratingly immature.  I’m not saying 40-year-olds can’t have fun but at least they can be wiser about it.  If I knew Paula in real life, I don’t think I’d want to be friends with her.  Wendy tolerating and making up with her every time they have a falling out made her look like a desperate social climber.  Midlife crisis?  Sure, maybe.  By the 5th Wendy-Roger phone fight, I’ve lost any interest.  This had a ton of Paula meltdowns too many.

Less is more.  This had potential to be a funny story about a woman going through midlife crisis.  Instead, the author concentrated on all the wrong things.  Like Las Vegas, it had so much excess.  Readers do not need to be constantly reminded of how Las Vegas works.  Time and space was spent on shopping lists than plot.  And the ending?  I… no.  Just no.

Rating: 2/5.

Recommendation: It wasn’t for me but it might be for you.  If you like all that girly stuff, name brand merchandise, fancy foods and places… maybe you’ve never been to Vegas and you want to experience it vicariously, you might enjoy this, I don’t know.  But honestly?  I don’t recommend this.

Get your copy here.

PS: This may come across a a bit harsh or hostile.  It is not my intention to insult anybody.  In fact, I appreciate the effort of the author to write her story and share it with the world.  Writing is hit or miss.  This was a miss for me and the above review sheds some light as to why.

Thoughts?

