Review: Taken Hostage by Ranae Rose

Taken Hostage

Taken Hostage / Ranae Rose

Published July 22nd 2011.

* In compliance with FTC guidelines, it should be noted that I received the book for free through LibraryThing Member Giveaways.

Synopsis from website:

Tiffany is taken on the run as a hostage when the bank she works at is robbed. When the gorgeous gunman offers to let her return to safety, she realizes that there are many things she wants to do to him, but that walking away isn’t one of them.

I am very picky with my erotica.  I’ve read some that I liked such as Belinda by Anne Rampling.  Some are just pure sleaze.  I’m constantly on the look out for other really good ones.

This one was just okay.  It was well constructed and the sex scenes were hot.  The author knew how to write it tastefully.  It wasn’t sleazy at all.  The cover art certainly added to the image in my head of what the “gorgeous gunman” would look like.

I didn’t like Tiffany.  Really.  I had an issue with her being so “lie there and take it”, no pun intended.  It could be some very serious case of Stockholm Syndrome or love at first sight, I don’t know.  I mean, imagine being taken hostage and your hostage taker is a hot piece of ass.  I think I would be afraid for my life first and foremost than having sexual fantasies about him.  There’s a lot of screwing in the woods, in the car, in public… with a complete stranger while on the run from the law.  Yes, that’s the main point of this book but still.

There were a couple of interrupted moments too.  And I admit, it was a good move from the author.  It was just getting to the good part and then something gets in the way and the characters – and possibly, the reader – were left frustrated.  Character development aside, the writing was very good.  It’s a very enjoyable quick read.

Rating: 3/5.

Recommendation:  Fans of erotica.  If you’re new to the genre, this is a good place to start.

Get you copy here.

Thoughts?

