Review: Harmless Adjustment by Kerry Kinlan

Harmless Adjustment

Harmless Adjustment / Kerry Kinlan

Published August 1st 2011.

* In compliance with FTC guidelines, it should be noted that I received the book for free through LibraryThing Member Giveaways.

Synopsis from GoodReads:

John knows he can’t change the past, can’t undo the one thing he now wishes he had dealt with differently. But what if he can change the painful memories of it in his wife’s mind? Would that bring instant healing to her and to their relationship?

I honestly don’t know what to make of this book, story.  I really don’t.  It’s tough to review a 9,500-word short story and not give anything away so here goes…

The synopsis looks intriguing.  But “change the painful memories” is kind of a stretch.  First of all, ‘to change’ is not the same as ‘to erase’.  The whole thing started out as very interesting with this mysterious lady who can ‘erase’ memories.  I thought she would be a big part of the story but the way she apparently wiped out the wife’s memories wasn’t even elaborated.  I was looking forward to some witchcrafty scene but it was done over the phone?  What?  Not even.

Also… the ‘painful memories’?  Wow.  I have OCD tendencies but I would never break down and cry if I lived in a house what is not that well kept.  Actually, I’d do something about it; clean as much as I can, fix things up myself if my husband is an insecure excuse of a man.  Surely, I wouldn’t wait three years to act.  I just… what even are these characters?  And the husband, instead of just cleaning the damn house, hires a ‘memory eraser’.  Uh… you could have used the money for more practical things such as, say… a cleaning crew, if you’re too lazy to do it yourself?

I’m ranting already.  I’m very sorry.  It was all too shallow and ridiculous to me.  Good thing it was free.

Rating: 1/5.

Recommendation:  Honestly?  Don’t.  But if you want to… go ahead.

Get you copy here.

2 thoughts on “Review: Harmless Adjustment by Kerry Kinlan

Thoughts?

