Review: Leaves of the Fall by Violet Yates

Leaves of the Fall

Leaves of the Fall / Violet Yates

Published May 26th 2011 by Violet Yates.

* In compliance with FTC guidelines, it should be noted that I received the book for free through LibraryThing Member Giveaways.

Synopsis from the website:

Rose is married to Trevor Dunn, who has been unfaithful in the past. The world drops in on Rose when she realizes he’s doing it again. She has a dear friend, Ethan, who may or may not have died in an accident. As Rose pieces the puzzle together, she embarks upon a journey of self-discovery, learning about herself and what she wants for her life.

This is my second novella in 24 hours.  I liked the other one.  This one, eh… it was just okay.

There’s nothing special about it, to be perfectly honest.  It was just there.  I really don’t know what else to say about it.  It’s nothing I haven’t read before.

I felt the ending was rushed.  I mean, she searched high and low for Ethan only to be rejected and Ethan’s all “so-and-so comes first”.  I just didn’t care for any of that.  I also felt that Rose never owned up to her faults, it was always somebody else to blame for what was happening to her.  It was nice that she had a good friend in Missy but instead of her being a voice of reason, again, she was just… there.   And “journey of self-discovery”?  Where?  It was mentioned in passing (say, a just a paragraph in the epilogue) but it’s by no means part of the story per se.  I think the author could’ve expanded that, elaborated on said journey and ended up with a novel.

Reading the author’s bio attached to the novella, I get a feeling that this was semi-autobiographical.  I really feel that this could be a good full novel rather than just a short piece.

Rating: 2/5.

Recommendation: It is 45 pages on the nook.  It wouldn’t take too long to read.

Get your copy here.

Thoughts?

