Review: Freeze by Daniel Pyle

freeze

Freeze / Daniel Pyle

Published May 1st 2011 by Blood Brothers Publishing.

* In compliance with FTC guidelines, it should be noted that I received the book for free through LibraryThing Member Giveaways.

I live in Southern California but I love snow.  Last Christmas, I was walking in the middle of a blizzard in New York City.  It was horrible but fun at the same time.  But after reading this novella, I may have to rethink my opinion about snow.

Tess and Warren are snowed in by a ranging snowstorm, cutting off their electricity and phone lines.  There was no safe way of getting down with their truck damaged by the snow and ice.  Trekking on foot is suicide.  Suddenly, strange things begin to happen.  Tess becomes injured in a freak accident and started coughing up blood.  And if that isn’t scary enough, there are strange creatures lurking

The author wastes no time.  The action starts from the first sentence and does not let up until the very end.  The descriptions are so vivid that I felt like I was right there with them.  Pyle made sure that you know that it was cold, you know they were in the middle of an extraordinary blizzard, you know how hard it is out there in the middle of it all.  The writing was very solid and the characters felt real. I have a soft spot for dogs so I appreciated that there’s a dog in the story.  It was fast-paced, it definitely kept me on my toes… and awake so late at night because I wanted to finish it right away!

Come to think of it, the plot was pretty simple… two main characters (three, if you add the dog), trapped in a storm, monsters are after them; how to get out?  The glacial… monstrosities.  What the hell are they?  The author left the field wide open, giving mere hints of what they are and what they look like, leaving so much to the reader’s imagination.  Pyle made them sound so terrifying.  Where did they come from?  What did they want?  They scared me, to be honest.  I can only imagine what if they were real.

This reminded me a lot of Stephen King’s short stories.  The simplicity of the plot, minimal characters, and how subtle yet scary it is, very well done.  I do have the author’s other work and I can’t wait to check them out.

Rating: 5/5.

Recommendation: Try reading this on a cold night, snowing, wind howling outside.  And you’re home.  Alone.  Haha, no really… if you want to get spooked, try this.

Get your copy here.

 

Thoughts?

