Another Book Lover Questionnaire!

1. What are at least 2 of your favorite genres? Historical fiction and classics. Although I tend to read a lot of crime non-fiction, military history, and a random mystery/thriller here and there.

2. What is your least favorite genre? Young adult literature. I can’t get the hang of it. I can’t seem to read a YA book that doesn’t make me roll my eyes are puke a little in my mouth.

3. What is your all-time favorite book? JANE EYRE.

4. What is the first book you remember reading? I remember one of those book tie-ins of Disney animated movies. Or that collection of Hans Christian Andersen stories.

5. Do you prefer books or audio books? Paper books. In fact, whenever I listen to audio books, I have a hard copy in my hand. So it’s more of a read-along.

6. Who are your favorite authors? JRR Tolkien, JK Rowling, Anita Shreve, Evan Wright, Dan Brown.

7. How many books do you read in a year? I’m not in school right now so I have all the time to read. I’ve only started keeping track last year and managed 27. This year, I’m already up to 30. Who knows what the number will be come December…

8. Do you buy books or borrow them from the library? Buy. I don’t like reading borrowed books. It’s a strange quirk.

9. How many books do you own? A lot. Let’s just leave it at that.

10. What is your most prized book? My copy of Generation Kill by Evan Wright signed by the actors who portrayed the US Marines in the HBO miniseries of the same name. My ultimate goal is to have all of them – actors, author, real Marines – to sign it. Yes, it’s in my bucket list. So far, I have on there Alexander Skarsgard, Stark Sands, Jon Huertas, Sal Alverez, and real (former) Marine Rudy Reyes. Also, my copy of Heat Wave by Richard Castle signed by the cast of the ABC show Castle – Nathan Fillion, Stana Katic, Molly Quinn, Jon Huertas, Seamus Dever, Ruben Santiago-Hudson, and producer Jose Molina..

11. What are the worst books you have ever read (or tried to read)? Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. What kind of travesty is that? I don’t claim to have perfect grammar but I am not the published “author” here. How much did she pay her editors? Ugh, the stories were awful, the grammar was appalling, her characters were not good.

12. Have you read any modern day sequels you liked? The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova. I guess that can be a sequel to Bram Stoker’s Dracula? I liked that very much.

13. What is your favorite quote from a book? I tend to have favorite lines/quotes from all the books I read. But my very favorite is…

“Do you think, because I am poor, obscure, plain, and little, I am soulless and heartless?” – Jane Eyre.

14. Who is your all-time favorite male character? Edward Fairfax Rochester. Yes, unpopular opinion time. Mr. Rochester > Mr. Darcy. Although Colin Firth’s Darcy was pretty awesome. 🙂

15. Who is your all-time favorite female character? Hermione Granger. I grew up with her and I could relate with her so much. I just need to find me a Ron.

16. What highly recommended book have you not liked? The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I just… it did nothing to me. It was a good book, I’ll give it that. But… but… I wasn’t jumping up and down about it. Meah.

17. Name a character you love to hate? Dolores Umbridge. She is the singular reason why it took me 2 days to finish the 5th Harry Potter book.

18. Do you belong to a book club? Nope, too lazy.

19. What was the last book you purchased? I think it was my “reading copy” of Generation Kill and that hardbound copy of One Bullet Away by Nathaniel Fick. Both from Amazon.

20. What are you reading now? Look at the right sidebar.

21. What book made you cry the hardest? When… Fred Weasley died in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I just stared at that short paragraph and had tears rolling down my face.

22. What book made you laugh the most? Some parts of Generation Kill make me laugh.

23. What is your favorite children’s book (one you would choose to read to your kids)? My favorite children’s book is Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery. And my children will start reading GOOD BOOKS as soon as s/he can discern symbols.

24. If you were to choose a book to give as a gift, what would it be? That would depend on the person. I don’t have many friends with the same literary tastes as mine. Case in point, I’m the only one who did not like The Hunger Games among my friends. There’s a good number of them who love anything Twilight. The only one whom I can confidently gift a book of my own choosing to is my brother.

25. List 5 books you have read more than once? Generation Kill, One Bullet Away, Jane Eyre, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, and The Hobbit.

26. What is your favorite book made into a movie? Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers by JRR Tolkien.  It’s also one of my favorite movies of all time.

27. Did you like the book or movie better? In general, I like books better. There’s so much that gets cut in screen adaptations and sometimes, those little things are the scenes I’m looking for.

28. What book would you like to see made into a movie? The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown.

29. Do you prefer hardcover or soft copy? Soft copy? Meaning digital? Or paperbacks, you mean. Paperbacks. They’re more portable.

30. Do you leave the dustcover on while you are reading a book? Nope. They’re cumbersome. But it’s a nice place to have multiple people sign your book.

31. Where do you usually read? Bed, office chair, desk. My favorite place to read is the train. Or a long bus ride.

32. When do you usually read? All the frickin’ time. Especially if it’s an interesting book.

33. Do you keep a TBR (to-be-read) list? Not exactly. More like a stash of books that I got for free hence, waiting for reviews. The link is at the navbar above.

34. Do you usually have more than one book that you are reading at a time? Two at the most.

35. Do you remember how you developed a love for reading? My mom loves to read and it seemed natural to me. I just picked up a Nancy Drew and blew through them. I genuinely enjoy reading.

Thoughts?

