Shelf overhaul.

Remember this mess?

Well, it took me a good part of an afternoon and listening to the original soundtrack of The Borgias by Trevor Morris to transform that mess to this…

As you can see, I do not have that many books and even less DVDs.  Yes, I have one foot in the digital age.  But this clearly proves that I support the printed word.

Up top, I have my Harry Potter and TV show DVDs.  I have HP 1-4; just out of the frame are my Orlando Bloom movies; those stacked horizontally are my Matthew Gray Gubler and Stark Sands filmographies.  I have American Idol – Best & Worst, True Blood Season 1, Generation Kill, Castle Seasons 1 & 2, Criminal Minds Season 5, CSI Season 1, and CSI:NY Seasons 1 & 2.  Then a DVD about serial killers and then some VCDs of movie musicals – Cats, The Sound of Music; and a special packaged Black Hawk Down.  Just beside the videos are my wider and/or hardcover books.  My copy of Heatwave by Richard Castle is signed by the cast of Castle.  Those coral colored rectangles on top are my One Bullet Away by Nathaniel Fick audio book and Primrose Past by Caroline Rose Hunt.

On the middle shelf, are my Harry Potter books and as you can see, butterbeer mug and glass from The Wizarding World of Harry Potter.  Also, my Lord of the Rings collection comprising of the 2-disc DVDs, the 4-disc boxed set, the books, and little Gollum there.  And yes, I have TWO 4-disc boxed sets of LOTR: The Two Towers.  And no, it is not for sale.  Haha!  Completing the space are my Wicked and Jacqueline Susann novels.

And for the bottom part, the biggest stash.  It’s a kind of an awkward space… so I just stuffed it.  On the left, behind the 3 Tru:Blood bottles are my military history books.  Yes, there are two copies of Generation Kill by Evan Wright there.  The red one is signed by some of the cast of the HBO miniseries.  I also have 2 hard copies of One Bullet Away, one is hidden by the bottles.  Speaking of Tru:Blood, you can see Southern Vampire Mysteries by Charlaine Harris 1 to 8.  To the right of that are my other vampire-related stories: The Vampire Diaries 1-2 by LJ Smith, The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova, Bram Stoker’s Dracula.  Mixed in are other historical fiction, Dan Brown, and Anita Shreve novels.  Those stacked horizontally are the books I’ve won from GoodReads First Reads.  I have since added two books to that stack.

I have two more shelves under these.  They’re still in chaos; the bottom one I use for my shoes.  But I still have more stuff – magazines, pictures.  Eventually, I’ll have them all sorted out.

Thoughts?

