Book Care Questionnaire

Physical books vs E-books.  What’s your opinion on this “argument”?

Me?  I’m happy with both.  I love my books in whatever form they come in.

—-

1. Are you careful with the spines? Or do you crack your books open to make them lay flat? I am a bit OCD when it comes to spines.  I don’t like ugly creases on them if I got them new.  My friend always said, “45 degree angle at the MOST”, when reading a new book.  When I acquire an old or used book, I don’t mind the creases as much.  But I’m extra careful not adding to them.  Although I only have this problem when I’m reading Mass Market Paperbacks.

2. Do you use bookmarks? Or do you dog-ear the corners? If you do use bookmarks, do you use those fashionable metal ones? Or paper? I dog-ear my school books.  Or use those colored flagettes things from Post-It.  And I use bookmarks for my non-school books.  Well, not like… proper bookmarks.  Used up metro cards, receipts, Starbucks music cards, calling cards, movie tickets… whatever’s convenient.

3. Do you write in your books? Ever? If you do, do you make small marks, or write in as much blank space as you can find? Pen or pencil? Highlighter? Your name on the front page? Yes, I write on my books, whether for school or not.  With pencil.  And I use a dermatograph to highlight stuff.  I don’t write my name on the front page.  However, I used to write my name on the edge, where the pages are.  I have a friend who used to write her favorite quotes on a Post-It and stick it on that page but it only served to make the book thicker.  What I do is I put slash marks where the quote started and ended.  Or post them on Tumblr… whichever is more convenient at the time.

4. Do you toss your books on the floor? Into book bags? Or do you treat them tenderly, with respect? Never on the floor.  I don’t know; it’s a quirk, I guess.  I can put my books anywhere but the floor.  Uhm, I’m generally careful with my books.  Any kind of folding or creasing bugs the hell out of me.  I used to cover them with plastic, that way I can be less careful but now that I don’t cover them anymore, I make sure it’s secure in my bag, no creases and whatnot.

5. Do you ever lay your book face-down, to save your place? My school books, yes.  And probably hardcovers.  Not Trade or Mass Market Paperbacks. 

6. Do you bathe with your books? Hold them with wet hands? Read out in the rain? Anything of that sort? I take showers.  And in those rare times I sink in a tub, I don’t take books with me.  Never holding with wet hands… I mean, WHY would you do that?  And well, if I’m in a rather dry area, like under an awning or a sunroom, with a roof over my head, why not?  The pitter-pat of the rain is relaxing.

7. Are your books lined up on a bookshelf? Or crammed in any which way? Stacked on the floor? Again, never on the floor.  If ever I put them on the floor, they’re in a box.  Yes, they are on a bookshelf.  At the moment, there is no clear organization layout but they’re there.

8. Do you make a distinction–in regards to book care–between hardcovers and paperbacks? Yes.  I don’t mind my hardcovers as much.  I mean, just as long as the dust cover is around it while on the shelf, they’re fine.  I read them without the dust cover anyway.  Paperbacks, I take extra care of them.  Because unlike the hardcovers, even the covers of the paperbacks can get creased.  And that is not cool.

9. Naturally, you love all of your books, but how, exactly? Are your books loved in the battered way of a well-loved teddy bear, or like a cherished photo album or item of clothing that’s used, appreciated, but carefully cared for? Haha, I love the analogy.  I guess a little bit of both but leaning more towards the latter.  I do have battered-looking books such as my copy of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.  But to my defense, four other people read that copy.  But I have a larger number of almost pristine-looking books but I’ve had them for years and years.  Of course, excluding the ones I got from the used pile.  Eh, even my used books look new.  Haha, maybe I’m just really careful.

Thoughts?

