MUSING MONDAYS | Sequels

How is it August 15 already? I feel like the month only just begun. And now, it’s almost Christmas! (My Filipino readers, shout-outs if you get the reference.)  That means, it’s almost my birthday.

Musing

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

Let’s start from the bottom, up. I couldn’t wait to get a copy of And I Darken by Kiersten White. I’ve been intrigued by it since the first time I heard about it on booktube. But you know the thing between me and full-priced books, right? This brings me to the 2nd item. Well, let me share with you an excerpt from my journal. (Yes, I’ve started back up again.)

There you go. My left-handed writing. And I am now in possession of a first edition signed copy of And I Darken. There’s something about first edition hardcovers. I love getting them, especially from used bookstores. And it wasn’t really “full-priced”. Target had 20% off, I think on it? But whatever. It’s in my possession now and I can’t wait to read it.

So, on there, I said I wanted to spend the weekend doing reading sprints. That… didn’t really happen. I did finish The Captive Prince by CS Pacat yesterday. (Please tell me things get better in the next books. Please.) But Saturday? Oh man, something came over me and I was asleep the whole damn day. Stomach flu? Virus? I had zero energy and no appetite. I read a couple of pages before passing out. It wasn’t pretty. I lost that day.

Sunday, I was feeling a bit better. But the book I finished wasn’t really doing it for me. After I made that GoodReads-official, I tried on some other books for size until I decided that it was about time I read Chimera by Mira Grant, the 3rd and final book in the Parasitology trilogy. I admit, I was tempted to re-read Symbiont because I frankly forgot what happened in that book. I read the last 3 chapters and I more or less jogged my memory of it.

By the way, Chimera is another “full-price” buy… with a coupon. It was National Indie Bookstore Day and I had a coupon from Vroman’s Bookstore. I started it and I was reminded right away of how addicting this series is and if I were feeling a bit better last Saturday, I would’ve taken a big chunk from this book already. I might write a series wrap-up on this. Maybe.

For this week’s random question: What sequel do you have yet to read?

My current read ties in nicely with this week’s question. But there are tons of sequels out there. I still have a couple of series I need to finish by the end of the year. Majority of the titles on my TBR are sequels, series completion, and god forbid, series starters. It does not end. XD

3 thoughts on “MUSING MONDAYS | Sequels

Thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.